LibGuides: Physics & Astronomy: Find Physical Property Data

How to Find Properties of Chemicals and Materials

The main library guide for finding chemical, physical, materials properties is at https://ucsd.libguides.com/properties
A select group of resources for finding properties is listed on this page.

If you have questions, Ask Us - and one of the engineering and physical sciences librarians will help you.

Property Data - Print Resources

We still have a lot of property data handbooks in the library, including classic titles like Molecular Spectra and Molecular Structure (volume 4 has v₀₀ values, for example).

There are several ways to locate data handbooks in the library:

A keyword search in our library catalog may be helpful depending on the property in question. Adding tables or data to the search can refine your results.
Search by Property Name (adapted from Arizona State University Library's Index of Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data classic guide). You can browse an A-Z list of properties to find associated print and online sources we have at UC San Diego Library.

Online Resources for Property Data

Some key resources to start your property data search.

SciFinder-n
Use Research Topic to find articles on your compound/property (heat capacity of ammonium chloride). You may also find the data you need by searching for your compound in the CAS Registry (Explore Substances). More information on SciFinder, including access and training resources.
Knovel
Extensive collection of searchable property data extracted from textbooks, handbooks, encyclopedias and databases. You can search by compound and property (heat capacity AND ammonium chloride). Some titles have interactive features like an equation plotter.

Landolt-Bornstein [Springer Materials]
Use Springer Materials to locate physical property data found in this classic handbook set. Volumes from 2000-2010 are online; older years of Landolt-Bornstein are being moved from Reference on the 2nd floor to the Index section on the 1st Floor East in Geisel QC 61.
more...less...
Need help using Landolt? - Use Ask Us (email a subject specialist) or contact Teri Vogel or Deborah Kegel for assistance.

Reaxys
Search by substance (ammonium chloride), and then view the associated data by property (heat capacity). You'll either get the actual data, with a reference to journal article, or a description of what you'll find in the journal article (such as a diagram). Reaxys includes Gmelin (inorganic and organometallic substances) and Beilstein (organic compounds).

NIST Data Gateway
Large collection of property databases from National Institute of Standards & Technology. Search by keyword, property or substance across the NIST databases, including the NIST Chemistry Webbook.
Many of the NIST databases are free, but you may get some results from the fee-based databases as well.
ChemSpider
Chemical structure database of over 26 million compounds. Search to find property data and spectra, with sources included.
Google
You may find the data you need by searching Google, but note the source. Is this a journal article or someone's webpage? Because these are popular physical chemistry experiments, you may find as many college lab assignments as you will articles on these topics (though the lab assignments may cite some of the key articles and books as well). You can also try Google Scholar.

Units, Quantities & Constants in Physical Chemistry

2018 CODATA Recommended Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants
The values of the constants provided at this site are recommended for international use by CODATA and are the latest available.
Quantities, Units and Symbols in Physical Chemistry (IUPAC)
Physical quantitles and units -- Tables of physical quantities -- Definitions and symbols for units -- Recommended mathematical symbols -- Fundamental physical constants -- Properties of particles, elements and nuclides -- Conversion of units -- Uncertainty -- Abbreviations and acronyms