Project management,
according to Claude Maley:
"...is the discipline of planning, organizing, and managing resources to bring about the successful completion of specific project goals and objectives....The primary challenge of project management is to achieve all of the project goals and objectives while honoring the established and agreed-upon project constraints. Typical constraints are scope, time, and budget." (p. 2, Project Management Concepts, Methods, and Techniques).
Graphic by Karn G. Bulsuk (http://www.bulsuk.com). Originally published at http://www.bulsuk.com/2009/02/taking-first-step-with-pdca.html [CC-BY-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
Introduction to Project Management: a source book for traditional PM basics by
This book presents the fundamentals of project management in simple language and an easy-to-understand format. It is targeted principally at those who are learning or desiring to learn project management as well as those who are already taking project management as a course of study or as a profession. It covers all the basic aspects of project management including the core areas prescribed by the Project Management Institute (PMI) in the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) sixth edition.
The Green Six Sigma Handbook: A Complete Guide for Lean Six Sigma Practitioners and Managers by
This book is a hands-on single-source reference of tools, techniques, and processes integrating both Lean and Six Sigma. This comprehensive handbook provides up-to-date guidance on how to use these tools and processes in different settings, such as start-up companies and stalled projects, as well as establish enterprises where the ongoing drive is to improve processes, profitability, and long-term growth.
Agile for Instructional Designers by
Popular in the software development space as an approach to project management, Agile, when applied to instructional design, provides a framework for adapting to change as it happens and for delivering the content most needed by learners. This book proposes using Agile methodology to manage training projects and highlights where traditional linear processes have failed the end users. The author’s approach adapts ID concepts to the incremental, iterative nature of Agile projects, allowing learners to test and evaluate which features or design functions work before they're finalized. It also offers a way to accommodate inevitable mid-project modifications pushed by stakeholders, subject matter experts, or organizational leaders. The book provides templates for goal alignment, learner personas, scope definition, estimating, planning, and iterative development.
The Vault Guide to Project Management Jobs, 2nd edition, is one of several career resources on PM in the Vault collection. To see additional blog entries, company and internship profiles and more, you also can search all of the Vault content on PM.
NOTE: Make sure you are on the vpn to use Vault. Occasionally, even if you are on the vpn, the link to a guide won't let you into our subscription content (it displays a price). If that happens, go to the main Vault page, then look for the title from there. You'll know it's working correctly when it displays "Access provided by University of California - San Diego" in the upper right corner.
Project Manager: careers in IT project management by
This book is a highly accessible guide to being a project manager (PM), particularly a project manager working within an IT field. Learn about the role, and its required skills, competencies and responsibilities. Tools, methods and techniques for project managers are covered, including Agile approaches; risk, issue and change management processes; best practices for managing stakeholders and financial management.
Project Managers at Work by
This book covers how to break into project management, cultivate leadership skills, and influence higher-ups. It provides tips to win assignments to manage career-advancing projects and ace deliveries. It also tells how to avoid pitfalls and recover from operational failures and managerial mistakes. The content is explored through interviews with professionals in PM.
If you are located on-campus, make sure that you are connected to the UCSD-Protected wifi.
If you are located off-campus, start by setting up VPN AnyConnect on your device.
The UC San Diego Health and Health Science VPN also provides off campus access to resources the Library provides. Instructions and assistance for UC San Diego Health and Health Science VPN users can be found in the Pulse intranet.
