Skip to main content

HDP 120: Language Development: Cite it Right

RefWorks

Manage your research electronically using RefWorks.

What is RefWorks?

Go to RefWorks & Get Started

Quick Tips

Quick Tip for Grabbing a Citation

    UC-eLinks:

    Use Copy & Paste Citation to quickly grab a plain text version of the citation in APA format.

    Ack! I need help

    Can't find what you need?  Do you have something to cite and not sure how best to do that?  Let me know and I'll help point you in the right direction.

    Marlo Young (858)822-4803 or email m2young@ucsd.edu.

    Need an answer right now?  Try the UC Chat service - they are available 24/7.

    Overview

    Citation Styles

    These are dictated by an organization or journal and specify the order of the information as well as any special font characteristics and punctuation to use when citing another's work.  Citation styles vary by discipline.  For HDP coursework, you will use the APA style guidelines.

    • APA - American Psychological Association

    Below are some examples of APA formatting.


    APA Citation Examples

    Book Section

     

    Bibliography

     

    Mirowski GW, P. E. (2008). Chapter 74. biology and pathology of the oral cavity". In Wolff K, Goldsmith LA, Katz SI, Gilchrest B, Paller AS, Leffell DJ (Ed.), Fitzpatrick's dermatology in general medicine (7th ed., ). New York: McGraw Hill.

     

     

    How the Citation is Referenced (in the text of the document)

     

    (Mirowski GW, 2008)

    Book, Whole

     

    Bibliography

     

    Moore, E. E., Feliciano, D. V., Mattox, K. L., STAT!Ref, & Teton Data Systems. (2008). Trauma (6th ed.)New York: McGraw-Hill, Medical Pub. Division. Retrieved from http://online.statref.com/document.aspx?FxId=74&DocID=1&grpalias=

     

     

    How the Citation is Reference (in the text of the document)

     

    (Moore, Feliciano, Mattox, STAT!Ref, & Teton Data Systems, 2008)

    Journal Article, Print

     

    Bibliography

     

    Bravo, P., Edwards, A., Rollnick, S., & Elwyn, G. (2010). Tough decisions faced by people living with HIV: A literature review of psychosocial problems. AIDS Reviews, 12(2), 76-88.

     

     

    How the Citation is Referenced (in the text of the document)

     

    (Bravo, Edwards, Rollnick, & Elwyn, 2010)

    Journal Article, Online

     

    Bibliography

     

    Ku, G. (2008). Learning to de-escalate: The effects of regret in escalation of commitment. Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes, 105(2), 221-232. doi:10.1016/j.obhdp.2007.08.002.

     

     

    How the Citation is Referenced (in the text of the document)

     

    (Ku, 2010)

    Web Pages

     

    In general, the principles are the same - the things to include areL the author, title, and date published when available. For undated materials, include the date the resource was accessedThe following is an example of a "professional" wepage.

     

    Bibliography

     

    National Renewable Energy Laboratory. (2008).  Biofuels. Retrieved May 6, 2008 . from http://www.nrel.gov/learning/re_biofuels.html   

     

      How the Citation is Referenced (in the text of the document)

     

     (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, 2008)

    Images

     

    Citing images can be a bit trickyFor more details, please see the side bar above

     

    Bibliography

     Cite the book or journal from which the image came.

     

     

    How the Citation is Reference (in the text of the document)  

     

    See the Citing Images side bar above for details

    Emails, Letters, or Personal Communications

     

    Bibliography

     

    None -- 

    Emails and other personal communications are referenced in the text only - with no entry in the bibliography.

     

    How the Citation is Referenced (in the text of the document)

     

    Depending upon how you write, the email author's name will be either inside the parentheses or outside it.

     

    (V.-G. Nguyen, personal communication, September 28, 1998),  or

    T. K. Lutes wrote, …     (personal communication, April 18, 2001)

    Lecturer’s Presentation

     

    Bibliography

     

    Ball, E. D. (2011).  Blood and Marrow Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation. [Powerpoint slides]. La Jolla, USA: UC San Diego, Blood and Marrow Transplantation.

     

    How the Citation is Reference (in the text of the document)

     

    (Ball, 2011)

    Need more details or examples?

     

    For a different type of reference, see the Cornell Library’s guide, APA Citation Style

    Citing Images or Figures

    APA Citation Style: Images

    Images, charts, graphs, and figures are also cited according to APA style guidelines.

    This guide from Landmark College Library is a great resource with formatting examples.

    You can also find additional guidance here from Colgate University.