Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCSD allows students, faculty
and staff access to thousands of electronic book titles, many of which
are full-text and searchable. This is not a comprehensive list of all
our e-books. For more help, please contact Dave Schmitt (info at right). If
you need help accessing electronic resources from off-campus, please
refer to our off-campus access guide.
UC Library Search
This is the easiest way to find any electronic books that UCSD provides access to. Go to our library catalog, where you can limit any search to "books" and "available online."
Hundreds of online handbooks and reference works across a variety of engineering disciplines. Fully searchable across all titles.
Database of McGraw-Hill engineering handbooks, textbooks, and videos, plus interactive graphs, downloadable tables, and a data visualization tool for properties of materials. Covers all engineering disciplines, but heaviest in chemical, electrical, materials, mechanical, and structural engineering. Includes standard reference works like Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, and the Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, as well as the Civil Engineering PE Exam Guide and Practice Exams, and about 30 Schaum's Outlines. (Also called AccessEngineering)
O'Reilly for Higher Education
48,000+ computing and IT ebooks, videos, case studies, and interactive tutorials from O'Reilly, plus books from additional IT and engineering publishers. Covers business, desktop/web applications, data science/management, digital media, engineering, information technology/software development & architecture, math & science, and personal/professional development. ** To connect, select UCSD from the institutions, then login with your AD username/password. **
Search/browse 3000+ science and engineering encyclopedias, handbooks, texts, and databases. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables. Excellent resource for chemical & physical property data.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
Library of 50- to 100-page lecture-sized books, synthesizing an important research topic, authored by an expert contributor in engineering, with more analysis & depth than the typical research journal article.
National Academies Press
Access to full-text PDFs of books and reports from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.
Internet Archive: Text Archive
Open access books from libraries and individual collections
Access full-text books that are out of copyright and view excerpts from books that are still under copyright; use the "Find this book in a library" link to locate a copy at a local library. Includes UCSD books scanned for the Google Library Project
UCSD has the full text to all Springer e-books from 2008-present.