ETHN 201: Historical Methods and Archives: Special Collections & Archives at UCSD

Special Collections & Archives (SC&A) materials are stored in an environmentally controlled, secured area and all users must register and place requests to use the materials. After you place your requests, we will pull the material out for you to use in our reading room. We are located on the main floor of the Geisel Library Building.

Register: Review our policies, register to use the collections, and create your research account through our Special Collections Request System.

Identify and Request Materials:

• All SC&A materials are cataloged in UC Library Search, so this is a great place to start your search.
• For manuscript and archives collections we also create a finding aid that serves as an inventory of the collection. This is also where you go to place requests for the particular archival boxes or folders you wish to use. Finding aids are linked from the descriptions of collections in UC Library Search, and are also available to search or browse directly via our website.
• When you identify an item that is cataloged individually in UC Library Search, open the record and look for the Special Collections Request link in the detailed record. Click on this to proceed with requesting.
• For larger collections that have a finding aid describing the contents, request via the finding aid. Check the checkbox next to each box or folder you wish to use, and then hit the Submit Request button toward the top left side of the page to proceed with requesting.

Accessing and Using SC&A Materials:

• If the items are located onsite, we will pull on demand when you arrive in Special Collections to use them. You will not receive any confirmation of availability and you do not need to make an appointment. Just select the date you plan to visit (can be same day). These will be noted in UC Library Search as: Available at, Special Collections & Archives, Geisel Special Collections.
• If the items are located offsite, these will NOT be available same day. Delivery times will be up to one week, and we'll send you an email when they are ready for you to use.These will be noted in UC Library Search as: Available at, Special Collections & Archives, Offsite Special Collections.

When you arrive in Special Collections to use the materials you've requested, bring a photo ID to complete the registration process. Cameras/personal photography is not permitted in the reading room. Laptops and tablets for note taking are welcome. We also have a scanner you can use to make selected scans, once approved by a librarian.

Our website also includes policies and more information about our collections that you should read over in advance to be prepared for working in this environment: https://library.ucsd.edu/collections/sca/

Special Collections & Archives is located on the main floor of Geisel Library

Hours:  M-F, 9-5

Questions? Drop by! Or email  at spcoll@ucsd.edu