Skip to main content
Are you looking for chemical prices, or information about companies or industries? Here are some starting places, with more resources on our research guide for chemical business information. You can find chemical prices in SciFinder's chemical catalogs database, or on the company websites themselves, but usually not bulk prices unless you contact a company for a quote. You may also find prices in news articles or trade publications.
Starting Places for Chemical Business Information
From the chemical substance (CAS Registry) record, you can find commercial suppliers, which you can customize to see preferred vendors first. Other information included: purity, stock status and shipping times. There may be some pricing, but more often there's a link back to the original supplier catalog where you can check prices. Suppliers that offer bulk quantities are indicated, but you usually have to request a quote for the pricing. First-time users will need to register for a SciFinder account
ICIS Chemical Business
*** Select ProQuest Materials Science & Engineering Database or ProQuest ABI/Inform Trade & Industry for the best access. ***
Chemical industry trade magazine, formerly Chemical Market Reporter. Browse issues, or search within the publication for chemical profiles (US, Europe, Latin America, Asia) for ~75 chemicals.
C&EN Global Enterprise / Chemical & Engineering News (ACS)
Professional magazine of the American Chemical Society, covering US and international chemistry news in industry, academia, and the government. Now available on the ACS Publications website as C&EN Global Enterprise, while access to the existing C&EN News
website now requires an ACS membership ID login/password.
Formerly known as the Thomas Register. Extensive database of supplier catalogs and products, including chemicals. Free to search, but some features require a registration.
USGS Minerals Information
A wealth of economic information on minerals
, including historic data and mineral industry reports by country.
Publications include: Mineral Commodity Summaries, Mineral Industry Surveys, Minerals Yearbook and Metal Industry Indicators, Nonmetallic Mineral Products Industry Indexes.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Full text database for newspapers, trade journals, industry news, and company information. Note: some of the articles are press releases announcing new market research reports that the library cannot access due to their very high costs.
Business Source Complete
Key index to the business literature, with lots of full text. Includes trade publications, scholarly journals, magazines, and company and industry profiles. See also: Business Insights: Global