Skip to main content
Global Financial Database is a collection of financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Data includes: long-term historical indices on stock markets; Total Return data on stocks, bonds, and bills; interest rates; exchange rates; inflation rates; bond indices; commodity indices and prices; consumer price indices; gross domestic product; individual stocks; sector indices; treasury bill yields; wholesale price indices; and unemployment rates covering over 200 countries.
Global Financial Data
- At the front page, choose “Login Anonymously” for our access.
- Choose the “GFDatabase" tab in the left nav bar labeled “GFD Search Engines.”
- UCSD Libraries does not buy the historical stock price datasets (Use Mergent Online for that, link below).
- Logout (upper right) when done in order to release the server for other users.
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, equity research reports, and industry reports.
Statistical Data Sources
These resources should help if you need to find some statistical information or datasets. Also see the tabs for Books, Background Information, etc., for additional sources.
Key Business Ratios
This online version of Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios includes current benchmarking data for U.S. public and private businesses using parameters of solvency, profitability and efficiency for 800 lines of business. Features include importing and exporting of data. For historical ratios (older than current five years), use the Mergent Archives
RMA eStatement Studies
This resource contains composite financial data from over 250,000 anonymous financial statements of manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting businesses operating in 762 industries. This tool is designed for comparing one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business along measures of liquidity, debt/default probability, sales and operations. Help using eStatement Studies
ProQuest Statistical Insight (Formerly Lexis-Nexis Statistical)
Powerful search engine to pinpoint association, governmental and other published data sources. Some data is available to download directly from the site in Excel or PDF format or as tables in GIF format. Contains U.S. federal, regional and international sources.
ProQuest Statistical DataSets
Includes current and historical time series data on a wide variety of topics and allows customizable graphs, mapping and downloading of data. Includes data at county, state and country level.
Global Market Information Database (GMID)
GMID presents reports on consumers and markets. Reports include details about consumer market segmentation, industry forecasts, consumer spending and attititudes, and economic and business trends. It's also a great source to download demographic information to show timeline trends.
County Business Patterns/ZIP Code Business Patterns
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry, including the number of establishments and employment.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
This resource was published annually from 1878-2012, and compiles tables and other numeric information on population, govenment, business, health, education, and much more, that is compiled by U.S. governement agencies. The PQ Statistical Insight (link above) also includes this content in its searches, but some people prefer to use this product on its own.