Every field and industry has at least one publication that people in the field read to keep up with what's going on. These magazines are in the Library's collections and you can access them and read like any pro in your field! For those exploring careers, they are great sources for inspiration. For job seekers, they are sources that can help you look knowledgable on trends, which can give you an edge for your job interviews and put you at ease for those moments of small talk with a potential employer.
Classic titles are:
Example: entrepreneurship. Check off "Trade Publications" on the left to focus on news & developments in the field.
See the most recent offerings from Fast Company.
Below are two packages of IT analyst reports that could help you prepare for interviews, identify potential employers, and keep up with trends in a variety of areas.
The Vault online resource collection features IT-specific content as well as company profiles and guides to working in various industries. It's a great resource for job hunting, internship seeking and career planning. Below are a sample of the kinds of titles you'll come across here. Don't miss the added article content in Vault's Careers in IT and Interviewing and Job Search sections.
Vault Guide to Cybersecurity by 
Vault Guide to Information Technology Consulting Jobs, 2nd ed.
Building a career in cybersecurity: the strategy and skills you need to succeed by
Cybersecurity is one of the world's fastest growing, most exciting fields--but that doesn't mean it's easy to enter the industry and succeed. The author, Principal PM Manager for a cybersecurity team at Microsoft, focuses on make-or-break knowledge you won't find elsewhere: personal strategy, planning, process, mindset, and the critical "soft skills" today's employers are desperate to find.
How to Become a Data Analyst by
The author walks you through how she took the reins and made a dramatic career change to unlock new levels of career enjoyment. In the book, she talks about the adaptability, curiosity, and persistence you'll need to break free from the 9-5 grind and how data analytics - with its wide variety of skills, roles, and options - is the perfect field for people looking to refresh their careers.
Jumpstart Your AI Career by 
Practitioner's guide to data science by
This book aims to increase the visibility of data science in real-world, which differs from what you learn from a typical textbook. Many aspects of day-to-day data science work are almost absent from conventional statistics, machine learning, and data science curriculum. Yet these activities account for a considerable share of the time and effort for data professionals in the industry. Based on industry experience, this book outlines real-world scenarios and discusses pitfalls that data science practitioners should avoid. It also covers the big data cloud platform and the art of data science, such as soft skills. The authors use R as the primary tool and provide code for both R and Python. This book is for readers who want to explore possible career paths and eventually become data scientists.
To browse for more and/or the latest items in our collections, here are some useful links in UC Library Search:
The Software Developer's Career Handbook by
At some point in your career, you'll realize there's more to being a software engineer than dealing with code. Is it time to become a manager? Or join a startup? In this insightful and entertaining book, Michael Lopp recalls his own make-or-break moments with Silicon Valley giants such as Apple, Slack, Pinterest, Palantir, Netscape, and Symantec to help you make better, more mindful career decisions.
The DevOps Career Handbook: the ultimate guide to pursuing a successful career in DevOps by
Explore the diverse DevOps career paths and prepare for each stage of the interview process with collective wisdom from DevOps experts and interviews with DevOps practitioners. This audiobook also is filled with hundreds of tips and tricks from experts regarding every step of the interview process, helping you save time and money by steering clear of avoidable mistakes.
Build a Career in Data Science by
This guide exists to help readers get their first data science job, then move quickly into becoming a senior employee. Industry experts explain the soft skills readers need alongside their technical know-how in order to succeed in the field. The book covers creating a portfolio to show off your DS projects; picking the right role for you; assessing and negotiating an offer; and leaving gracefully and moving up the ladder. It also includes interviews with professional data scientists about their experiences.
Making a Difference: careers in health informatics by
Get answers to questions about in working in health informatics. Typically, this field includes people who work in health care, computer and technology fields, information science, finance / insurance and related areas. The book describes the various jobs that exist in the field, what credentials someone needs to qualify for those jobs, and a brief description about what people in those roles tend to do every day. The authors describe career options, roles, and skill sets important in health informatics across 6 related industries.
Building Your Career As a Statistician: a practical guide to longevity, happiness, and accomplishment by
This book for anyone who is considering a career in statistics or a related field. Contents focus on the non-statistical aspects that are crucial for success, namely: productivity and prioritization; innovation and creativity; communication; critical thinking and decisions under uncertainty; influence and leadership; working relationship; and career planning and continued learning.
Sustainable Networking for Scientists and Engineers by
Sustainability applied to networking is about treating professional support and assistance like a resource, and creating more of it than you take. Written for an international STEM audience, the author discusses how to create success and mutually beneficial professional relationships.
Data Analyst; careers in data analysis by
This book is an essential guide to the role of data analyst. Aspiring data analysts will discover what data analysts do all day, what skills they will need for the role, and what regulations they will be required to adhere to. Practising data analysts can explore useful data analysis tools, methods and techniques, brush up on best practices and look at how they can advance their career.
Project Managers at Work by
This book covers how to break into project management, cultivate leadership skills, and influence higher-ups. It provides tips to win assignments to manage career-advancing projects and ace deliveries. It also tells how to avoid pitfalls and recover from operational failures and managerial mistakes. The content is explored through interviews with professionals in PM.
Thriving in the Gig Economy by
Take an in-depth look into the gig economy to see how tech professionals and entrepreneurs can earn a living as freelancers and contractors. Build your own business. The pros and cons of the lifestyle and what to expect from it are discussed.... You will understand how to make a living supplying tech skills on a "per gig" basis. Practical instructions, advice, and tips are provided on goal setting, lifestyle design, and selecting the types of work and contracts that further your goals and support the things you value as you transition from a 9-5 job.
Acing the System Design Interview by 
Cracking the Data Science Interview by
The data science job market is saturated with professionals of all backgrounds, including academics, researchers, bootcampers, and Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) graduates. This book provides expert guidance on approaching the interview process with full preparation and confidence. Starting with an introduction to the modern data science landscape, you'll find
tips on job hunting, resume writing, and creating a top-notch portfolio, as well as how best to prepare for the intensive data science interview.
Ace the data science interview: 201 real interview questions asked by FAANG, tech startups, & Wall Street by
Authored by two Ex-Facebook employees, this book provide advice on how to prepare for Data Science, Data Analyst, and Machine Learning interviews, so that you can land your dream job at FAANG, tech startups, or Wall Street
Machine Learning Interviews: kickstart your machine learning career and data career by
As tech products become more prevalent today, the demand for machine learning professionals continues to grow. However, the responsibilities and skill sets required of ML professionals still vary drastically from company to company, making the interview process difficult to predict. In this guide, data science leader Susan Shu Chang shows you how to tackle the ML hiring process.
Machine Learning Interviews
As tech products become more prevalent today, the demand for machine learning professionals continues to grow. But the responsibilities and skill sets required of ML professionals still vary drastically from company to company, making the interview process difficult to predict. In this guide, data science leader Susan Shu Chang shows you how to tackle the ML hiring process.
Programming Interviews for Dummies by
This book explains the skills and knowledge you need to ace the programming interview. Interviews for software development jobs and other programming positions are unique. Not only must candidates demonstrate technical savvy, they must also show that they're equipped to be a productive member of programming teams and ready to start solving problems from day one. This book demystifies both sides of the process, offering tips and techniques to help candidates and interviewers alike. Audiobook also available.
Surviving the Whiteboard Interview: A Developer’s Guide to Using Soft Skills to Get Hired by
The industry standard whiteboard interview can be daunting for developers. Let’s face it: it combines the worst aspects of a typical interview, on-the-spot public speaking, a quiz show, and a dinner party full of strangers judging you—all at once. With enough preparation, information, and assured confidence, you can survive a whiteboard interview at any organization. The author covers how to practice both hard and soft skills needed to succeed at a whiteboard interview, covering coding tests as well as psychological preparation. You can learn how to make other aspects of your interview stronger, so you can create a great impression, too.
Moving Beyond Code by 
Own Your Tech Career: soft skills for technologists by 
2022 cloud salary survey by
Are you curious about how your job title, gender, state, age, or education impact your salary? Want to determine whether a particular cloud certification is worth going for? Wonder how many of your peers are working remotely--and what that means for salaries? Or do you just want to see how your skills and salary compare to others in your field? Get the answers to your salary questions in the O'Reilly 2022 Cloud Salary Survey report.
