Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Safety Data Handbooks
Safety information about specific chemical substances, arranged by name and/or functional group.
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards
Compendium of reactivity hazards of individual elements or compounds, alone and in combination, with associated literature references. Section 1 covers specific chemical entries; Section 2 identifies well-defined groups of hazardous compounds. (2017, 8th edition)
Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens
Critical data for more than 2200 important and/or regulated and monitored substances, and many associated substances. Substance records include regulatory listings, physical properties, incompatibilities, exposure limits, harmful effects and symptoms, first aid, storage, spill handling and more. (2012, 6th edition)
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
Data on toxicology, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information for over 28,000 substances. Includes (when available): identification information, DPIM code, hazard rating, properties, synonyms, and toxicology data with references for reports of primary skin and eye irritation, mutation, reproductive, carcinogenic, and acute toxic dose data. (12th edition, 2012)
Wiley Guide to Chemical Incompatibilities
9000 chemical incompatibility profiles, covering flammability, violent and explosive binary reactions, incompatibilities, and reactions that may result from physical change. (2009, 3rd edition)
Comprehensive Guide to the Hazardous Properties of Chemical Substances
Handbook of safety data for organics, metals and inorganics, industrial solvents, common gases, particulates, explosives, and radioactive substances. Arranged by chemical structures and functional groups. Includes information on toxicity and carcinogenicity to flammability and explosive reactivity to handling and disposal practices. (2006, 3rd edition)
Destruction of Hazardous Chemicals in the Laboratory
Practical (specific and non-specific) procedures for the destruction of hazardous chemicals and biological agents in the laboratory in which they are used. Arranged by compounds and groups of compounds, including pharmaceuticals, with literature references. (2012, 3rd edition)
Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects
Vital information on 5,300 chemicals and their impact on the environment. Includes physical properties, occupational exposure, ecotoxicity, environmental fate, and mammalian and avian toxicity. (2005, 3rd edition)
Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference
Safety profiles for 5,000 important hazardous chemicals. Quick overview of properties, hazards, and government agency standards. (6th edition, 2008)
Laboratory Handbooks & Textbooks
Handbooks and textbooks of interest that aren't arranged by compound names and data. Content arranged more by topics and concepts, including safety culture and college lab safety.
Laboratory Safety for Chemistry Students (1st edition)
Undergraduate textbook on chemical laboratory safety. Topics: emergency response; recognizing, understanding and communicating about hazards; risk assessment; minimizing, controlling and managing hazards; and chemical management.
Prudent Practices in the Laboratory: Handling and Management of Chemical Hazards
Guidance on planning procedures for the handling, storage, and disposal of chemicals. Offers prudent practices designed to promote safety and includes practical information on assessing hazards, managing chemicals, disposing of wastes, etc. (Revised, 2011)
Guidelines for Chemical Laboratory Safety in Academic Institutions
"To assist educators with integrating safety education throughout the entire chemistry curriculum where principles of safety are taught over time rather than just during one-time safety trainings." From the American Chemical Society Committee on Chemical Safety (2016).
Safe Science: Promoting a Culture of Safety in Academic Chemical Research
"This report examines the culture of safety in research institutions and makes recommendations for university leadership, laboratory researchers, and environmental health and safety professionals to support safety as a core value of their institutions. The report discusses ways to fulfill that commitment through prioritizing funding for safety equipment and training, as well as making safety an ongoing operational priority." (2014)
Personal Protective Equipment for Chemical, Biological, and Radiological Hazards: Design, Evaluation, and Selection
"Covering the physics, chemistry, and physiology of these hazards, the book explains how PPE protects from various forms of hazards as well as how to use this information to select PPE against these highly hazardous substances for first responder or military users. The design of PPE and components plus relevant performance and evaluation standards are also discussed." (2012)
On the Practice of Safety
Safety practices textbook, covering "subjects and practices that today's safety professionals need to know in order to provide optimal protection for their organizations' property and personnel." (2013, 4th ed)
Guidelines for Laboratory Design: Health, Safety, and Environmental Considerations
Guide to designing "labs that make it possible to conduct scientific investigations in a safe and healthy environment." (4th edition, 2013)
Steps to Safety Culture Excellence
"teaches methods for improving a company's safety culture and allows readers to effectively assess, transform, sustain, and integrate behavioral safety precepts as part of their company's continuous improvement efforts." (2013)