Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology: Student's Practical Guide to Writing Papers: Tools for Writing

Writing Assistance Services

Assistance with Writing at UCSD Library

The Writing + Critial Expression Hub offers assistance with:

  • Writing, the writing process, and writing skills
  • Workshops on key writing topics

One-on-one writing tutoring by appointment, 6 days/week

 

How to Cite - Tools, Tricks, & Tips for Managing Citations

The "How to Cite" Research Guide is an indispensable guide to citation manuals, citation management systems, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

See also the Quick Guides for the

Chicago Manual of StyleThis provides examples for various types of foot/endnotes and bibliography citations such as books, book chapters, journal articles, websites, and more.

MLA: This provides an interactive template to demonstrate and assist in creating various kinds of citations.

APAThis provides examples for various types of foot/endnotes and bibliography citations such as books, book chapters, journal articles, websites, and more.

Annotated Bibliographies and Lit Reviews

Annotated Bibliographies

An annotated bibliography is, as its name suggests, a bibliography that is annotated (or has annotations -- notes or summaries about each item on the bibliography -- what it is about, why it is important, and how it relates to your research project).

Here are a few places to look for examples of annotated bibliographies:

Literature Reviews

A literature review is, (similarly) as its name suggests, a review (or overview) of the literature on a given topic.  Literature reviews can be stand-alone papers or articles, or sections of longer works (theses and dissertations or articles).  Here are a couple of places to learn more about literature reviews in Anthropology -- please note that the first link (from San Jose State U.) includes a section that points to different kinds of lit reviews that exist, even within the discipline of Anthropology.  This guid identifies the following categories of lit reviews: Traditional (narrative), systematic, meta analysis, and meta synthesis.