Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LTCS 250: Native American Literature: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Resources for Native American Literature & Culture

Native American Literature

Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature. Ed. Jennifer McClinton-Temple and Alan Vilie. New York: Facts on File, 2007. PS 153 .I52 E53 2007 (Reference Collection)

Whitson, Kathy J. Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC Clio, 1999. PS 153 .I52 W47 1999 (Reference Collection)

Dictionary of Native American Literature. Ed. Andrew Wiget. New York: Garland, 1994. PM 155 .D53 1994 (Reference Collection).  

Also see the resources in the "Biographical Resources" page.

Native American History & Culture

Encyclopedia of North American Indians. Ed. Frederick E. Hoxie. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1996. E 76.2 .E53 1996 (Reference Collection)

Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia. Ed. Mary B. Davis. New York: Garland, 1994. E 76.2 .N36 1994 (Reference Collection)

Pritzker, Barry. Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Peoples. 2 vols. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC Clio, 1998 E 77 .P89 1998 (Reference Collection)

The Gale Encyclopedia of North American Tribes. Ed. Sharon Malinowski et al. 4 vols. Detroit: Gale, 1998. E77 G15 1998 (Reference Collection) 

Hausman, Gerald. Turtle Island Alphabet: A Lexicon of Native American Symbols and Culture. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1992. E98 .R3 H27 1992 (Geisel Stacks / 6th floor)

Hightower-Langston, Donna. The Native American World. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley, 2003. E77 .H54 2002 (Reference Collection) 

Historical Dictionary of North American Archaeology. Ed. Edward B. Jelks. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988. E 77.9 .H57 1988 (Reference Collection)

Sonneborg, Liz. Chronology of Native American History: The Trail of the Wind. New York: Facts on File, 2001. E77 .S72 2001 (Reference Collection)

Thompson, William N. Native American Issues: A Reference Handbook. 2nd edition. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC Clio, 2005. E98 .T77 T56 2005 (Reference Collection)

Hirschfelder, Arlene B. and Paulette Molin. Encyclopedia of Native American Religions. Updated edition. New York: Facts on File, 2000. E98 .R3 H73 2000 (Reference Collection)

American Indians. Consulting editor Harvey Markowitz. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1995. 3 vols. E 76.2 .A45 1995 (Reference Collection)

Barnes, Ian. The Historical Atlas of Native Americans. Edison, N.J.: Chartwell Books, 2009. (Reference Collection - Atlas Cases).

Waldman, Carl. Atlas of the North American Indian. 3rd edition. New York: Checkmark Books, 2009. G 1106 .E1 W3 2009 (Reference Collection - Atlas Cases) 

Johnson, Michael G. The Native Tribes of North America: A Concise Encyclopedia. New York: Macmillan, 1994.  E 76.2 .J64 1994 (Stacks, Oversize, 8th floor)

Paterek, Josephine. Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC Clio, 1998. E 98 .C8 P37 1994 (Reference Collection) 

Waldman, Carl. Word Dance: The Language of Native American Culture. New York: Facts on File, 1994. Use Melvyl to request this book from storage.

White, Philip M. A Bibliography of Native American Bibliographies. Westport, CT: Praeger, 2004. E77 .W53 2004 (Reference Collection).

Wright-McLeod, Brian. The Encyclopedia of Native Music. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 2005. ML 156.4 .I5 W75 2005 (Reference Collection)