LibGuides: ANTH 196A: Honors Thesis Research : Encyclopedias+

Smart Places to Start

SAVE TIME!

Specialized encyclopedias (as well as dictionaries and handbooks) can be great places to start your research. Use them to find:

Background information on a topic
An overview of research on a topic
Definitions of terminology
Explanations of methods and theories

Most of the resources listed here are online but there are many others available only in print--many in the Reference Collections in Geisel and WongAvery Library. Ask a librarian for help in locating others.

Top Picks

*Please note that almost all of these are available online

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2015 edition) The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences has been fully revised and updated. It offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. It comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
more...less...
Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields
Discusses history, current trends and future directions
Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (1st ed)
Anthropology in Theory: Issues in Epistemology
Companion to Cognitive Anthropology
Companion to Medical Anthropology
Companion to Paleoanthropology
Companion to the Anthropology of the Body and Embodiment
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Not online. Print copy in Geisel.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
See Analytical Table of Contents for useful guide.
Sage Handbook of Social Anthropology
more...less...
Extensive essays outline current research directions. Includes bibliographies.
Oxford Companion to Archaeology