Skip to main content
Personal Accounts: Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories
Some of the sources on this page were written by historical figures and ordinary people. Others, especially oral histories, are those people remembering their lives and experiences.
Bracero History Archive
Oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964
Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive
Searchable databases include the Mississippi Digital Library, oral history transcripts, and manuscripts and photographs. [Full Description]
Documenting the American South:
Search or browse full text sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the early 20th century: slave narratives, other first person narratives, literature, life during the Civil War and African American churches.
Dust Bowl Migration Digital Archives
Transcripts of oral history interviews with 57 California residents who migrated to the San Joaquin Valley from Oklahoma, Arkansas, Missouri, and Kansas between 1924 and 1939. Also photographs, bibliographies
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
This collection (when complete) will bring together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, drawn from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
More than 150,000 pages of diaries and letters of over 1300 women, colonial period through 1950. Includes biographies and extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Oral History Interviews and Transcripts from the UC History Digital Archive
Transcripts of nearly 60 oral history intereviews conducted at UC Berkeley, Santa Cruz and Los Angeles
The Sixties : Primary Documents and Personal Narratives
1960 - 1974. More than 70,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories, plus more than 30,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, audio and video materials. Also interpretive essays by historians
Voices from the Days of Slavery: Former Slaves Tell Their Stories
Interviews of 23 individuals born into slavery between 1823 and the early 1960s, recorded between 1932 and 1975. Includes transcripts and streaming audio of the recordings. From the Library of Congress American Memory program