Skip to main content
Historical texts: books, periodicals, documents
Afro-Americana imprints, 1535-1922
This includes more than 12,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides spanning over 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Critically important subjects covered include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought, including political protest and resistance to racism; descriptions of African American life throughout the Americans; and slavery and race in fiction and drama.
Documenting the American South:
Search or browse full text sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the early 20th century: slave narratives, other first person narratives, literature, life during the Civil War and African American churches.
Early American Imprints Series I (1639-1800)
Browse or search Early American Imprints (Digital Evans), a major collection of 17th and 18th century books and pamphlets based on Charles Evans American Bibliography. On completion will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images
Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819)
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, this primary source collection provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first 19 years of the nineteenth century
Everyday Life & Women in America c. 1800-1920
Scanned texts of books, pamphlets, tracts, and periodicals covering the social history, family life, and popular culture of U.S. women from 1800-1920. Also contains introductory essays, a chronology, and a bibliography.
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online (1543-1945)
Trace the evolution of feminism by using digital images from more than 4,700 books, periodicals, letters, diaries and pamphlets from Europe, the U.S., Canada, and New Zealand. Contains over two million page images of primary sources.
Historic Documents: 1972-present
U.S. and international documents on the most significant events of the year. Includes presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, governmental reports, scientific findings,cultural discussions, etc. 100 new documents per year
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers, 1942-1945.
Online collection of 25 newspapers published in the Relocation Camps in several U.S. states during World War II.
Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications
A digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century.
Slaves and the Courts
More than 100 pamphlets and books (1772-1889) from the Library of Congress on the experiences of African and African-American slaves in the colonies and the US: an assortment of trials and cases, reports, arguments, accounts, etc.
Studies in Scarlet : Marriage and Sexuality in the U.S. & U.K., 1815-1914
Transcripts of over 420 trials in the U.S. & U.K. involving domestic violence, bigamy, seduction, breach of promise to marry, and the custody of children, as well as trials for murder, rape, and sexual deviancy.
Vital Speeches of the Day
1934-present. Text of speeches on wide range of political topics. Browse by year or search for topics.