Encyclopedias & Handbooks - BGGN 2xx - Biology Resources for Graduate Students - LibGuides at University of California San Diego

Encyclopedias

Use these specialized encyclopedias as authoritative sources for general information on topics in biology & biological sciences. These encyclopedias provide information that you can use to learn more about a new subject, find introductory material for your research papers, or to help you find ideas for research topics. Use UC Library Search to find more handbooks on your topics. You can add the term "encyclopedias" or "handbooks" to your topic to restrict your search to these types of materials. Make sure to select Library Catalog

Access Science
McGraw-Hill, producers of AccessScience, describe their online encyclopedia as a "gateway to scientific knowledge, from basic introductory material to extended article entries and live journal citations in key scientific areas including biology, Earth and environmental sciences, chemistry, physics, and beyond."
Please note that access to this encyclopedia is restricted to 2 users at a time, so if you get a message that it is "in use", please try again in a few minutes.

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
The Encyclopedia of Biodiversity is a scholarly resource containing over 300 articles by leading international authors. It is a comprehensive survey of biodiversity, across taxonomic groups and ecological regions. Topics covered include agriculture, conservation and restoration, economics, environmental conditions and effects, evolution, extinctions, genetics, geographic and global issues, habitats and ecosystems, human effects and interventions, and population issues.
Encyclopedia of Earth
The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts. EOE content is mainly articles on topics, places, and biographies, plus international reports, brief definitions, and some eBooks, videos, and sound files. Topics covered range from biological diversity of living organisms, atmospheric sciences, biogeochemistry, oceanography, ecology, forestry, fisheries, agriculture, to environmental engineering, environmental economics, and environmental sociology.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
This encyclopedia, know as eLS for short, is an easy to search, up-to-date collection of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, molecular biology and biodiversity of life.
Nucleic Acids from A-Z: a Concise Encyclopedia
This dictionary style "mini-encyclopedia" contains over 1,500 entries covering all important concepts, compounds, techniques and acronyms in the field of nucleic acids research.

Handbooks

These are only a few of the handbooks that are available online for you to use as background or introductory texts. Use UC Library Search to find more handbooks on your topics. You can add the term "encyclopedias" or "handbooks" to your topic to restrict your search to these types of materials. Make sure to select Library Catalog

Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
5th edition. Provides physical and chemical data on proteins, nucleic acids, lipids, and carbohydrates. It covers a wide range of topics, from classical biochemistry to proteomics and genomics, it also details the properties of commonly used biochemicals, laboratory solvents, and reagents.
Limited to one user at a time. Try again later if refused.
Biology Data Book
Digitized 3-volume set of oldie goldie handbooks of foundational data. Properties of various biological materials, constants, and weird data to win trivia contests. Need to know the typical blood pressure of a camel? It's here.
Handbook of Statistical Systems Biology
This book covers topics in mathematical models of biological systems. Experts in systems biology and statistics provide insight in to the major ideas in the field, in particular methods of specifying and fitting models, and estimating the unknown parameters. Areas covered include inference techniques in systems biology, networks and graphical modeling, and reverse engineering approaches.

BGGN 2xx - Biology Resources for Graduate Students: Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Encyclopedias

Handbooks