Skip to main content
UCSD Library's physical maps collection is located in the West Wing of Geisel Library and there are also many maps collections online. Visit the Maps Collection website for more information and for who to contact for help. This page lists a few of the online collection you may find useful for U.S. History.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
Large collection of online world, region, country, city and historical maps. Arranged by continent. "Current Interest" section. Copyright free. Links.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
Over 15,000 high-resolution digital images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented. [Full Description]
Civil War Maps
Digitized maps from the Geography and Maps collection of the Library of Congress. Part of the American Memory collection.
Geography and Map Reading Room (Library of Congress)
Has several online presentations of historic maps and Atlases from the 1500s to the present, covering mostly American historical topics..
Map Collections: American Memory
Historical maps from the American Memory digital collections of the Library of Congress[Full Description]
Panoramac Maps, 1847 - 1929
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress. U.S. and Canadian cities portrayed as if viewed from above showing streets, buildings, and major landscape features in perspective.