Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliographies & Resource Guides
Cold War International History Project Digital Archive
Collection of Cold War archival materials from governments on all sides in the conflict.
American Historical Association's guide to historical literature
Contains nearly 27,000 annotated citations (primarily to English language works) divided into forty-eight sections; citations refer chiefly to works published between 1961 and 1992. Print edition available in SSHL Reference.
Reference Sources in History: an introductory guide
A guide to sources for research in all areas of history, print and online. Revision of 1990 edition of the same name, including sources published through 2003. Also available in print
American foreign relations since 1600 : a guide to the literature
Comprehensive annotated bibliography for the study of U.S foreign relations. Originally published in 1983, updated in 2003 to include material through the Clinton Admistration. Print edition also available in the library
Appalachian Studies Bibliography, 1994-2004
Multidisciplinary survey of research, cumulating an annual bibliography in the Journal of Appalachian Studies. Includes books, book chapters, journal articles, conference papers, selected dissertation, government publications.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
Fully searchable version of the 6-vol European Americana: a Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. More than 32000 entries covering the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native peoples
Guide to the Study of the United States of America
Representative books reflecting the development of American life and thought. Classic 1000 page bibliography published in 1960 by the Library of Congress.
United States in the Vietnam War, 1954-1975
Annotated bibliography of English-language sources. Revised 2008 edition of a work first published in print 1986. Only one user at a time can connect.
Vietnam War Bibliography
Primarily a bibliography of books, but a moderate number of articles are listed. May include links to fulltext when available online. Maintained by Ed Moise, author of
Historical Dictionary Of The Vietnam War, available in SSHL Reference. Last updated May 2006.