LibGuides: United States History: Articles

Finding Articles--History and Other Disciplines

For the most comprehensive coverage use America: History & Life. But historians also branch out into other scholarly disciplines, and on this page you will find a number that may help in your research.

America: History and Life
1964-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations.
Reviews in American History
1973- present. Scholarly reviews of books in American history. These can be brief or lengthy, and valuable not only for evaluating books but in finding out about them.
Issues from 1973-1995 available via JSTOR.
https://www.jstor.org/journal/reviamerhist
Historical Abstracts
1954-present. Research on the rest of the world. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade
History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Covers topics on the role of scientific discovery in society and culture, as well as the historiography of scientific disciplines from prehistory to the present. Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.
Women's Studies International
1972-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Women's Studies Abstracts (1984-present).
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Database indexing journal articles, books and other publications, covering all aspects of native North American culture and history. Includes materials published from 1500s to present.
Chicano Database
Comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Since 1992 includes articles on the broader Latino experience.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.

IIBP: International Index to Black Periodicals
Citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean (as far back as 1902)--and full-text coverage of over 40 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward)

Bibliography of World Slavery
Lists about 25,000 scholarly works published since 1900 in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving, worldwide and throughout human history, including modern times.

Index to Legal Periodicals
1908-1981.Indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia,New Zealand. Also annual surveys, yearbooks, and annual reviews of work in a given field or topic

Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective
1913-1983. Provides a single resource for seven decades of articles on the most important events, issues & trends in the history of business & industry, plus the most important historical sources in the applied science & technology for the 20th Century. Can search in combination with Applied Science & Technology Full Text.
Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to business. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more

Finding Articles -- General and Multidisciplinary

These databases combine journals from all areas of the social sciences, humanities and arts; also general interest publications. With one search, you may be able to pull out research from many different disciplines. Articles from the 19th and early 20th century can also be used as primary sources

Academic Search Complete
Always the best starting point, indexes and abstracts articles in every field from more than 10,900 journals and other publications. Not only social sciences and humanites, but also science, technology, business and popular magazines. Full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years of journal issues may not be included. A worthy companion site with scholarly books and articles content is Project MUSE (muse,jhu.edu).
Web of Science
1900-present. Major database indexes 10,000+ journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, & humanities, as well as conference proceedings.
Periodicals Index Online
1665-1995. Index to 22 million articles from over 7,000 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language.
Periodicals Archive Online
1665-2006. Full text of 3 million articles from 796 North American and European journals in arts, humanities, social sciences. 20 percent non-English. Also try the much larger Periodicals Index Online
American Periodicals Series (APS) Online
1740-1900. Full text of North American periodicals (magazines and newspapers) from 1740 through the 19th century; a few early 20th century periodicals also included. Search APS Online by keyword or browse by journal

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Preferences option for UC-eLinks or Google may ask you to pay for resources UCSD has already purchased.

Reader's Guide Retrospective
1890-1982. Online version of Reader's Guide to Periodicals, index to general-interest U.S. magazines during the 20th Century.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Archive
1915-1976. Lists articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.

Alternative Press Index & Alternative Press Archive, Combined
1969-current. Citations to articles alternative, radical, and left publications in North America which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change