LibGuides: United States History: Encyclopedias

General and Regional Encyclopedias

Subject encyclopedias are much more than a way of picking up quick facts. Typically put together by scholars and other experts in the field, they can provide an overview of a field or fill in topics for unfamiliar areas of research. The articles usually also include a list of important books and articles. Not a substitute for research but a quick way of getting you started.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias: American History
The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (ORE) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars in American History. The encyclopedia covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research. This source is regularly updated.
more...less...
Subfields:
20th Century: Post-1945
20th Century: Pre-1945
African American History
Antebellum History
Asian American History
Civil War and Reconstruction
Colonial History
Cultural History
Early National History
Economic History
Environmental History
Foreign Relations and Foreign Policy
History of Science and Technology
Labor and Working Class History
Late 19th-Century History
Latino History
Legal History
Native American History
Political History
Pre-Contact History
Religious History
Revolutionary History
Slavery and Abolition
Southern History
Urban History
Western History
Women's History
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Over 3,800 articles arranged under broad subject areas. There is also a 26 vol. print edition in SSHL Reference collection, main floor of Geisel Library, H41 .I58 2001
Oxford Companion to United States History
More than 1400 entries on political, diplomatic and military history; social, cultural and intellectual trends; science, technology and medicine; the arts and religion
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History
Covers events, policies, activities, institutions, groups, people, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Includes 900 articles by noted scholars, ranging from 500-word entries on inventors, organizations and important figures to lengthy essays on markets, industries, and labor.
Encyclopedia of Chicago
Thousands of resources,including articles, photos, maps, broadsides and newspapers, related to Chicago's history. Searchable and browsable. From the Chicago Historical Society, the Newberry Library, and Northwestern University.
Encyclopedia Virginia
Explores the commerce, history, culture, arts and sciences of the state. Browse entries or search by name, subject, keyword. From the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities
Handbook of Texas Online
Encyclopedia and biographical dictionary covering every aspect of Texas history. Sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin. Print edition available in SSHL Reference
HistoryLink.org: Online Encyclopedia of Washington State History
An evolving online encyclopedia of state and local history in Washington state, containing more than 4,000 essays as of 2006. A work in progress, new essays are added every week.
New Georgia Encyclopedia
Information about people, places, events, institutions, relating to Georgia, including articles with bibliographies, images and web links. A project of the Georgia Humanities Council, University of Georgia Press, & the University System of Georgia.
Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture
More than 1500 entries. An updated version of a 1998 print edition, but updated and enriched with audio, video and other media. A joint project of the Tennessee Historical Society and the University of Tennessee Press. Print edition in SSHL Reference
Multicultural America: a Multimedia Encyclopedia

Historical Periods, Special Subjects, Groups

Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War
A political, social, and military history. Ebook version of a 5 volume encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War
A political, social, and military history, published in 2000. Also available in print in SSHL Reference
Encyclopedia of the Spanish-American and Philippine-American Wars
Provides brief articles and bibliographies on persons, places, event and issues on both the Spanish American War and its aftermath in the Philippines. Print edition E715 .E53 2009, Geisel 5fth Fl.
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War
Comprehensive coverage of the military, social, and political aspects of the Vietnam War.
_____________________________________
Encyclopedia of Abortion in the United States. 2nd edition
Covers abortion from the founding of the U.S. to the present day. The entries address the many political, legal, social, religious, and medical issues. 2009 update to 1st edition. One user at a time so if busy, try again
Encyclopedia of American disability history
Examines issues, events, people, activism, laws, personal experiences, and social ramifications of disability throughout American history. Includes chronology and dozens of original documents, as well as an extensive bibliography.
Encyclopedia of American Environmental History
Covers every significant issue, event, law, and figure in U.S. environmental history.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America
Covers all significant religious denominations and movements in North America, from early European settlement to present day. Includes religious life of indigenous peoples and the relationship of political, social, economic, and cultural spheres
Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet
Biographical profile (with bibliography) for every individual who served in the U.S. and Confederate cabinets from 1789 through 2000. Also available in print in SSHL Reference
Encyclopedia of the Veteran in America
Entries and primary source documents on veterans and related issues, from the Revolutionary War to Iraq/Afghanistan.
Guns in American society : an encyclopedia of history, politics, culture, and the law
Also available in print in SSHL Reference
Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History
From ancient Egypt and pirates to nuclear submarines and supertankers. Over 900 articles examine all aspects: naval history, shipbuilding, biographies, navigation and scientific instrumentation, maritime art and literature, commerce, international law.
Oxford Guide to the United States Government
Contains the key figures, events, and structures that have animated U.S. government for more than 200 years.
Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions
Entries on nearly 450 major historical Supreme Court cases through 2008. Search by keyword or browse by case name.
Pirates of the Americas: 1650-1725
Encyclopedia with details and bibliographies on ships, the most obscure pirates and related characters, equipment and dress, places, much more. One user at a time.
Poverty in the United States: an encyclopedia of history, politics, and policy
Also available in print in SSHL Reference
_______________________________________

African Americans at War
Covers participation in US wars from the Revolution to Afghanistan and Iraq.

American Women During World War II: An Encyclopedia
Documents lives & stories of women who contributed directly to the war effort as well as those who worked in civilian defense industries.
Encyclopedia of American Jewish History
Covers the Jewish experience in the United States from the 17th century to the 21st. This is the E-book version of a two volume encyclopedia published in 2007.

Oxford African American Studies Center
More than 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, plus primary sources with commentaries, over 1,000 images, maps, charts and tables, timelines, and over 6,000 biographies

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history
UXL Encyclopedia of Native AmericanTribes
Information on lifeways and histories of Native American tribes, confederacies, and other communities. Grouped by major geographical regions of North America.
Black America: a State-by-State Historical Encyclopedia
Chronology of events, historical overview, and brief biographical articles.
Routledge Handbook of American Military and Diplomatic History: 1865 to the Present