Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American National Biography
Detailed articles on more than 18,000 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the United States. Includes bibliographies and links to web resources. Several hundred new entries added each year.
Biography Reference Bank
Combines full text profiles with listings and links to articles from otherdatabases. Coverage is worldwide, but with strong emphasis on U.S. Includes profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book and performance reviews, speeches, obituaries.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Illustrated collection of 50,000 biographies. The main focus is Britain and its former colonies and imperial possessions, but it includes full biographical coverage of North America up to American independence
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-present
Search a database maintained by the U.S. Congress; provides a brief profile and, where available, photograph and bibliography.[
Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet
Biographical profile (with bibliography) for every individual who served in the U.S. and Confederate cabinets from 1789 through 2000.
First Ladies of the United States of America
A portrait and biographical sketch of each First Lady, from the White House website.
Medal of Honor Citations
Medals of Honor citations granted to Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen, Marines, and Coast Guardsmen since the decoration's creation in 1861. Site maintained by the U.S. Army.
Presidents of the United States of America
Profiles of each President made available by the White House website. Also points to profiles of First Ladies and, where available. links to Presidential Libraries.
San Diego Biographies
Profiles of more than 150 figures in San Diego history, including a photograph or portrait in most cases. From the San Diego Historical Society
Speakers of the House of Representatives
Detailed profiles, historical essays, primary documents, time line, bibliographies.
Suffragists Oral History Project
Profiles and transcribed interviews with twelve leaders and participants in the Woman's Suffrage Movement. Project directed by the Bancroft Library's Oral History Office, Berkeley.