United States History: Personal Accounts

Contains 100,000 pages of letters, diaries and memoirs written 1861-65, by more than 2000 authors.

Serves as a single access point to websites offering the personal papers and publications of the American Founders. From the Library of Congress.[Full Description]

Oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964

Covers years 1849-1900. Site consists of the full texts and illustrations of 190 works documenting the formative era of California's history through eyewitness accounts

Searchable databases include the Mississippi Digital Library, oral history transcripts, and manuscripts and photographs. [Full Description]

Search or browse full text sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the early 20th century: slave narratives, other first person narratives, literature, life during the Civil War and African American churches.

Transcripts of oral history interviews with California residents who migrated to the San Joaquin Valley from Oklahoma, Arkansas, Missouri, and Kansas between 1924 and 1939. Also photographs & bibliographies.

This release contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of material: letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters in North America. The collection is centered on present-day Canada and the U. S. with limited coverage of Mexico.

The Correspondence between Eleanor Roosevelt and Harry S. Truman. 1945-1959.

Digital images of the correspondence of John Muir from 1856-1914, which include letters to and from notable figures in scientific, literary, and political circles of the 19th and early 20th centuries.

This collection (when complete) will bring together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, drawn from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society

Documents the remembered past of persons affiliated with and affected by the Nevada Test Site during Cold War nuclear testing. Transcripts, selected audio and video, photographs and images, from University of Las Vegas Special Collections Library

More than 150,000 pages of diaries and letters of over 1300 women, colonial period through 1950. Includes biographies and extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Digitized primary sources written by women slaves, spies, feminists, and more. From Special Collections Library at Duke University.

Transcripts of nearly 60 oral history intereviews conducted at UC Berkeley, Santa Cruz and Los Angeles

Interviewees include a wide variety of House employees: House Officers, Member aides, committee staff, support staff, family of Members, and select former Representatives.

Tapes secretly recorded between 1940 and 1973 by Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon, along with relevant research materials. (The majority of tapes are from the Nixon Administration)

Profiles and transcribed interviews with twelve leaders and participants in the Woman's Suffrage Movement. Project directed by the Bancroft Library's Oral History Office, Berkeley.

1960 - 1974. More than 70,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories, plus more than 30,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, audio and video materials. Also interpretive essays by historians

"The mission of the [Vietnam] Oral History Project is to create and preserve a more complete record of the wars in Southeast Asia by preserving, through recorded interviews.."

Interviews of 23 individuals born into slavery between 1823 and the early 1960s, recorded between 1932 and 1975. Includes transcripts and streaming audio of the recordings. From the Library of Congress American Memory program