United States History: Collections of Primary Sources

Full text of all or parts of 177 magazines and journals published by or for the African American community between 1825 and 1995. Topics include race relations and civil rights, religion, business, literature and the arts, and general interest magazines. Searches may be limited to place (state) or date of publication, topic, keywords, broad categories, etc.

Collection of primary sources from 1879-1899 on topics of American life, including the arts, business & economy, communications, education, fashion & leisure, government & politics, law & justice, lifestyles & social trends, religion, and science, medicine & technology.

Collection of primary sources from 1879-1899 on topics of American life, including the arts, business & economy, communications, education, fashion & leisure, government & politics, law & justice, lifestyles & social trends, religion, and science, medicine & technology.

From monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the details of Americans' daily lives. Topics include world events, the arts, business and the economy, education, fashion, government and politics, law and justice, lifestyles and social trends, media, medicine and health, religion, science and technology, and sports.

This includes more than 12,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides spanning over 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Critically important subjects covered include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought, including political protest and resistance to racism; descriptions of African American life throughout the Americans; and slavery and race in fiction and drama.

University of California's gateway to a world of historical primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items:photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, art works, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising,and more

Documents the experience of Japanese Americans in WWII internment camps. Primary source materials include photographs, documents, manuscripts, paintings, drawings, letters, and oral histories.

1960 - 1974. More than 70,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories, plus more than 30,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, audio and video materials. Also interpretive essays by historians

A growing collection of digitized historical documents, images and reference materials, along with past and current analysis on the history of the UC system and its individual campuses.

Access to digitized books, manuscripts and images from the collections of Harvard University Libraries and Museums on women in the U.S. economy from 1870-1930. Searchable, or browsable by topic, individual, dates and events, or organization