Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Images and Photographs
Some of the richest image collections are at the top of this list, but be sure and browse through the rest of them.
Library of Congress digital library of primary source and archival material relating to American culture and history: print, manuscripts, photographs, moving pictures and recorded sound. More than 150 collections and growing.
With millions of images dating back more than 150 years, this is one of the world's largest archives of historical & current imagery. Updated every minute. Includes news, entertainment, arts, business, and sports coverage from AP and selected partners
Charles Cushman Photo Collection -- American Life 1938-1969
The Charles W. Cushman Photograph Collection includes 14,500 color images of life in America between 1938 and 1969. The archives can be searched by keywords or browsed by place, subject or year.
Images of America: a history of American life in images and texts
Built on Arcadia Publishing's large and ongoing series of local town and community histories, on completion it will include over 1 million historical images and texts.
Images of San Diego's Past
From the San Diego History Center (formerly the San Diego Historical Society) photo archives.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Catalog
Library of Congress historical print and photograph collections. Browse, search and view images from 54 different collections. Includes nearly one million images online.
Timepix (the Time and Life picture collection)
Photographs from the archives of Time-Life publications and related magazines. Search by keyword among millions of images of the 20th century. Individual registration is required, but there is no charge.
An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II.
Afro-Americana imprints, 1535-1922
This includes more than 12,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides spanning over 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Critically important subjects covered include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought, including political protest and resistance to racism; descriptions of African American life throughout the Americans; and slavery and race in fiction and drama.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor Digital Library is comprised of 300,000 images digital images and their corresponding data and the tools to make active use of those images.
Baseball Cards, 1887-1914
An online collection of images of baseball cards from the Library of Congress.[Full Description]
Bureau of Land Management Historical Photographs
Digital access to 3500 photographs in the U.S. Bureau of Land Management historical collections, from the 1890s through the 1980s.[Full Description]
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Includes over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States
History of the American West
Over 30,000 photographs, from the holdings of the Denver Public Library, showing Colorado towns and landscape, the place of mining in the history of Colorado and the West, and the lives of Native Americans.
Los Angeles in Photographs, 1920-1990
Nearly 6000 images from the Los Angeles Times and Los Angeles Daily News photographic archives. Digitized by the UCLA Library's Department of Special Collections.
New York Public Library Picture Collection Online
30,000 images of New York City, costume, design, U.S. history, etc. from books, magazines and newspapers, as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.
Presidential Election Cartoons from 1860-1912
Political cartoons from the pages of Harper's Weekly, especially by Thomas Nast, and from Vanity Fair, Frank Leslie's Illustrated Weekly, Puck, and the Library of Congress Collection of American Political Prints
San Fernando Valley History Digital Library
From California State University Northridge. This digital library project focuses on the history of the San Fernando Valley in the 20th Century. Includes more than 2000 photos, maps, illustrations, manuscripts, and other images of the valley's past.
September 11 News.com
Permanent Internet archive of news coverage of the events of September 11, 2001
Smithsonian Science Service Historical Image Collection, 1926-1976
Contains images with their original captions, as they were distributed by the Science Service in an effort to popularize the area of scientific innovation and research. Searchable by category
Turn of the Century America: Photographs from the Detroit Publishing Company, 1880?1920
Includes over 25,000 glass negatives and transparencies as well as about 300 color photolithograph prints, mostly of the eastern United States. From the Library of Congress American Memory collection
Vintage Ad Browser Key site
Vintage graphic ads from the late 19th century to the present: browse through categories from alcohol, guns and tobacco to computers, perfume and propaganda.
War Posters Collection
More than 150 original World War I and World War II posters, urging Americans to work, conserve, and fight for the war effort. Digitized from a larger collection at the Enoch Pratt Free Library