Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library of Congress digital library of primary source and archival material relating to American culture and history: print, manuscripts, photographs, moving pictures and recorded sound. More than 150 collections and growing.
American History in Video
Coverage of historical events through documentaries, commercial and government newsreels, and archival and public affairs footage.
America at Work, America at Leisure This link opens in a new window
Digitized films depicting work, school, and leisure activities in the United States from 1894 to 1915 are featured in this presentation of 150 motion pictures. Highlights include films of the United States Postal Service from 1903, cattle breeding, fire fighters, ice manufacturing, logging, calisthenic and gymnastic exercises in schools, amusement parks, boxing, expositions, football, parades, swimming, and other sporting events.
American Black Journal
Video archive of the Detroit Public TV program from 1968-2001. Browse or search and view as streaming video.
Films commissioned by the U.S. Government to support the war effort during World War II: by John Ford, William Wyler, John Huston, and Frank Capra's 8-part series Why We Fight. Downloadable MPG files.
Great Debate and Beyond: the history of televised presidential debates
Videos, photos, headlines, and commentary on the presidential debates from 1960-1996. Essays, statistics, and interviews with scholars are included. From the Museum of Broadcast Communications
Living Room Candidate: A History of Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008
See video of presidential campaign commercials from 1952 to 2008. More than 300 digitized commercials are presented, along with analysis, historical background, and results from each election.
Mike Wallace Interview (1957-1958)
Video and transcripts of televised interviews of 66 historical figures: from Kirk Douglas, Tony Perkins and Salvador Dali to Eleanor Roosevelt, Margaret Sanger and a young Henry Kissinger.
September 11 News.com
Permanent Internet archive of news coverage of the events of September 11, 2001
Vanderbilt Television news archive
1968-present. Browse or search summaries of evening network news programs for ABC, CBS and NBC from 1968, CNN from 1995, Fox News from 2004. Streaming video for CNN and NBC only.
Vietnam Center and Archive: Oral History Project
Over 2.7 million pages of scanned materials including "documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids." From the Institute for Modern Conflict, Diplomacy and Reconciliation