LibGuides: Korean Studies: Articles in English

Is it scholarly?

A quick checklist:

1. Where did you find the source? Did you use a scholarly database? UC Library Search?

2. Who's responsible for the work? Is it published by a university press or another known scholarly publisher? What are the author's credentials? Is the author a professor or other known academic or scholar?

3. Does it look like a scholarly work? Does it have footnotes and/or endnotes and/or a bibliography? What kinds of sources is it citing? Where did the author get their information? What research methodology are they using?

English-language Research Tools

Historical Abstracts
Indexes articles from 1954-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Indexes articles from 1971-present. Lists Western-language books, book chapters and journal articles on all parts of Asia except the countries of Western Asia (Middle East).

Bibliography of Performing Arts in the East (in Western Languages)
A bibliography of Western-language books, articles, theses, and some unpublished materials about live Eastern theater, dance, drama, puppetry, and masks, and of film, martial arts, and music when they are related to theater or dance. No full text.

Additional Social Sciences Research Tools

Additionally, depending on your specific area of research, you may want to run searches in these tools for related disciplines or multidisciplinary areas.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Alt-PressWatch
Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.
Alternative Press Index
Citations to articles in roughly 381 alternative, radical, and left publications in North America. which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change
Alternative Press Index Archive
Citations to articles alternative, radical, and left publications in North America which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change
America: History and Life
1895-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. Over 1,800 journals are indexed.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.
EconLit
Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. It contains more than 2.5 million records from more than 2,350 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888. Formerly Environment Index.
Historical Abstracts
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Indexes a wide range of important journals in all areas of the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907 up to 1984. Use the UC-eLinks button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
Index to Current Urban Documents Online (1995)-
Index and search engine providing full-text access to documents from local governments, civic organizations, and planning agencies from 500 cities in the United States and Canada.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Labordoc
Labordoc, the ILO Library's database, contains references and full text access to the world's literature on the world of work.
Left Index
Access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.
PAIS Archive
Lists articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
Philosopher's Index
The premiere bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all subject areas of philosophy. It contains works on philosophy from both philosophy and interdisciplinary sources. There are author-written abstracts for most records. The global database contains more than 680,000 records with source publications from 139 countries in 37 languages. The primary languages are English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Primary coverage spans from 1940 to present with additional records dating back to 1893.
Sociological Abstracts
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Index for all aspects of Urban Studies from 1973 to the present. Includes abstracts and many full-text links. Formerly Sage Urban Studies Abstracts.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Westlaw Campus Research
Full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; law reviews, legal periodicals, and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides. Also includes some news sources.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibiographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.

Google Scholar
Easy way to search across thousands of scholarly journals and websites for citations and articles. At UCSD (or through VPN), you will see UC-eLinks - use this to check if we have the items you find.

JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.