LibGuides: Korean Studies: News

Korea-specific News Resources

Naver News Library = 뉴스 라이브러리
Provides a digital archive service for articles published between 1920 and 1999 from major Korean newspapers.
Tonga ilbo
東亞日報
Dong-A ilbo
東亞日報
Kyŏnghyang sinmun
京鄉新聞
Kyunghyang shinmun
京鄉新聞
Maeil kyŏngje sinmun
每日經濟新聞
Maeil business newspaper
每日經濟新聞
Han'gyŏre
한겨레
The hankyoreh
한겨레
Chosŏn Ilbo Archive
South Korean newspaper from March of 1920 to present. The Archive is in Korean. 1920년 창간호부터 현재까지의 일간신문.
Keijō nippō = The Keijo nippo = 京城日報
Korean newspaper in Japanese. Originally published daily: 1907-1945
Factiva
More than 28,000 sources from 157 countries in 23 languages. Newspapers, newswires, transcripts, company financials, photos, and more. Exclusive source for Wall Street Journal Asia, Dow Jones and Reuters wires.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Nexis Uni
LNA contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. Former name: Academic Universe.
-Korea Herald
-Korea Times

Korea times (English ed.)
v.3(1994)-v.10:no.10(2001:Oct.) Ethnic Newswatch.
Selected article text for 1998-2001. LexisNexis academic.

Sources for News from around the World

News sources can be particularly useful as primary sources that describe events as they unfold. They may cover sitautions or events that are newer or more specific than than one might find in scholarly articles. The Library subscribe to a number of online sources for international news.

Newspapers Research Guide

Read today's news

AllSides
Free site that displays and links to the day’s top news stories from the Left, Center and Right of the political spectrum — side-by-side so you can see the full picture. Older news and think tank websites are also searchable by keyword and topic.

Wall Street Journal (university membership site license)
Students, faculty, and staff may create a free personal account for print and web content from The Wall Street Journal. Includes WSJ app access and contains 4 years of articles coverage. Membership program sponsored by UC San Diego Library.
New York Times (academic pass program)
Create free online and app account to current and historical New York Times content. All UCSD faculty, staff, and students are eligible. Program sponsored by Associated Students and UC San Diego Library.

New York Times - for everyone, via the San Diego County Library/funded by the CA State Library (no library card required)
Full access to the online edition of the New York Times, including breaking news, in-depth articles, op/ed pieces, videos, blogs and more. Login with your NYTimes.com account to get unlimited 24-hour access. If you do not have an account, you will be prompted to create one.
Read today's New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post via Factiva

Most popular news databases

Access World News
Dates vary. More than 1500 sources worldwide, including 650 in the U.S. Largely newspapers,local news video for the U.S.; newspapers for Canada, UK and other English-speaking countries. For the rest of the world mostly wire services, BBC news digests
Factiva
Factiva.com provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Nexis Uni
Formerly Lexis Nexis Academic. Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Of special note is BBC Monitoring content, which includes translations of foreign media, but researchers are advise to use the Source Directory to find it. Former name: Academic Universe.
EMIS Next Academic Research (formerly EMIS Intelligence)
Foreign business intelligence service covering macroeconomic analysis, companies, industries, finance, and news in Asia, Latin America, and Central/Eastern Europe. Includes full-text news articles, research reports, and online data.[

Historic news from around the world

Keesing's World News Archive
1931-present. More than 75 years of international news reports, with summaries of political, economic and social events. Search by subject or browse by country. UCSD users ignore logon prompt. May be down for regular maintenance 8-9pm California time
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
1941-1996. Translations by U.S. government of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television. Scanned from print Daily Report issues covering areas such as China, East Asia, Latin America.
World News Connection
1994-2013. Translations and summaries by U.S. government of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television broadcasts, and nonclassified technical reports. Successor to FBIS.

Individual major newspapers

San Diego Union (historical)
Full-text pdf files of newspaper from 1871-1992
San Diego Union Tribune
1984- . Full text (but no images) of the Union-Tribune, and before the 1990 merger, of the separate San Diego Union and Evening Tribune. For page images, library has on microfilm 1992-2018 and 1922-91.
San Diego Union Tribune
October 2018-present. Full text, including images of the Union-Tribune. For older page images, Geisel Library has microfilm 1992-2018 for the U-T, and older years 1922-91 for the San Diego Union. Full text (no images) available for Dec 1983-present on Newsbank database.
Los Angeles Times (1881 - present)
Custom combined full-runs search of three ProQuest versions of Los Angeles Times.
Los Angeles Times (1881-2016)
Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
Los Angeles Times (2008 - current year)
Searchable full-page images of original newspaper issues, (Latest 3 months are not included.)
New York Times (1851 - current)
Custom combined full-runs search of three ProQuest versions of New York Times.
New York Times (1851-2010)
New York Times (1999-present)
New York Times (2008 - present year)
Searchable full-page images of original newspaper issues. Latest three months not included.
Wall Street Journal (Historical)
1889-2012. Search and browse full text and display images of both articles and complete newspaper pages. Via Proquest.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
This ProQuest site includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.
Washington Post (1877 - present)
Custom combined full-runs search of three ProQuest versions of Washington Post.
Washington Post (Historical)
1877-1994. Search and browse full text and display images of both articles and complete newspaper.
Washington Post (1988-present)
Washington Post (2008 - current year)
Searchable full-page images of original newspaper issues. (Latest three months not included.)
Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010)
The Financial Times Historical Archive provides full-text searching and access to one of the world’s most authoritative sources on international business, economics, and politics, from 1888-2010.
The Times [of London] Digital Archive, 1785-2014
The "world's newspaper of record." Searchable full text of every complete page of every issue - every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement
The Times [of London] 1985-