Skip to main content
Finding Articles--General and Interdisciplinary
The following databases look at all areas of the social sciences, humanities and arts and also general interest publications. With one search, you may be able to pull out research from many different disciplines.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 2000 titles, predominantly scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences.
Finding Articles-- Ethnic Studies and Gender Studies
UCSD Libraries subscribe to several databases specific to Gender Studies and the Social Sciences. Databases contain articles that have been published in scholarly journals. These are just a few recommended for your research. Use the yellow UC-eLinks button to find the online full text or print articles when the article isn't automatically available full text in the database.
Black Studies Center
Includes full text journals and indexing from the International Index of Black Periodicals, newspapers such as the Chicago Defender, Black Literature Index, and essays from the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience.
Index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Since 1992 includes articles on the broader Latino experience.
Ethnic News Watch
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-presen
Race Relations Abstracts
1975-present. Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline[Full Description]
URL too long to display