How do I choose the right database for my topic?
Each database has a description attached. Read the description to figure out if it is relevant to your topic.
In the "Find Articles" tab of this guide, I put selected databases by topic area. Read the descriptions to find one relevant for your topic.
How do I find my subject headings?
Once you find an article on your topic, look at the full description to see what subject headings/descriptors they use to describe the article. Clicking on those subject headings will pull up results that use the same subject headings (like hashtags).
Another way is to check to see if the database provides a thesaurus (Some may call them different things). If you can't find it, contact Lia (lgfriedman@ucsd.edu)
What is the most efficient way to read a research article?
Start by reading the abstract. Then open the full text and check out the headings and sub-headings within the article. This will let you know how that broad idea is parsed out. Then go back and read the introduction, which usually includes the literature review. These introduce the topic and why the author chose to research it. You can also go and read the discussion or conclusion.
This will give you an idea if the article is relevant and to what degree.
What if an article isn't free?
In the databases, use the gold UCe-links button to find the free full-text. If you click that and it says it's not available, scroll down that gold page and click where it says "Request this from the library". Fill out the form and we will find a copy of the article to send to you. You may also see a link to a pdf from another database that you can easily access!
If you are using Google Scholar and it isn't free, check out the Google Scholar tab of this guide to configure it so it will give you links to the full text through the library.
When should I narrow my search and get more specific?
Start with a broad search at first, and then get specific when you have found materials that give you a good idea of what the research broadly says about your topic. Especially if you have a lot of articles to choose from with that broader topic. Think about an outline of a paper and how you want to introduce the topic to whomever is reading it, then start to speak specifically about your topic, i.e. population, etc.
What if I need help now?
We have a 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat service where you can get help from an academic librarian.
If you have any other questions, I am always here to help!
lgfriedman@ucsd.edu
