LibGuides: San Diego Nanotechnology Initiative (SDNI) REU: Search Ebook Collections

Search the Ebook Collections

Another option to search for ebooks is by searching the full text of the the books (and articles) at the publisher websites.

Pros

Can identify books that may not have come up in a catalog search, including very new books that haven't yet been cataloged.

Cons

Full text may bring up very large sets of results, which you can refine by limits and making your searches more detailed (more keywords).
Only searches that one publisher.
We may not have everything by that publisher. Check the catalog to see if we have the print book or use interlibrary loan.

Our main ebook platforms for nano- related topics. With the exception of Knovel, all of these are publisher websites.

Springer
Heavy concentration of nano- related works, including handbooks. Limit results to books, chapters or reference work entries, and/or "Include Preview-Only content" to exclude anything we don't have online.
Knovel
Collection of engineering and chemistry books from multiple publishers. Searchable by full text, but you can also search chemicals or materials for specific properties, and export that data.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley's ebook/journal platform, with a strong engineering/chemistry/materials collection. Easy to limit results to books or reference works. Access to older books more limited; check for the green Full Access.
Science Direct
Platform for the Elsevier, Academic Press and related imprints. Can limit results to book chapters and encyclopedia entries. Access to reference works and older books limited, so check for Full Text Access next to the entry.
Royal Society of Chemistry
Smaller collection, but a heavy focus on nano-topics.
Taylor & Francis
Includes the CRC engineering books. Can filter to see only results from ebooks that we license.