MGT 119: Sustainability: Books

This book is a practical guide that will teach you all about the Business Model Canvas and how it can increase your value proposition, and improve your company. The author uses case studies to illustrate how to improve your business planning using the canvas model.

This book provides a comprehensive exploration into the identification and development of sustainable business models as well as their implementation, management and evaluation. Its chapters explore the role of partnerships, the Internet of Things and the circular economy, among other factors, in developing SBM and how sustainable business model innovation (SBMI) is facilitated. This book critically reviews existing literature on the topic to examine the potential of SBMI in research and in practice.

This thought-provoking examination of corporate social responsibility (CSR) discusses why firms engage in CSR for different reasons and exhibit different patterns of CSR activities, and how CSR activities range from sincere action with substantial social or environmental improvements to symbolic impression management and the creation of a CSR-façade that is little more than empty words. The authors take a step back from how CSR is currently understood and practiced, and stimulate readers to reflect on how to move CSR forward.

This comprehensive introductory-level textbook addresses the interface between environmental challenges and business solutions to provide an overview of the basic concepts of sustainability, sustainable business, and business ethics. It provides background from the business perspective, and also ties in other disciplines like economics and environmental studies and is international in scope.

A pragmatic new business model for sustainability that outlines eight steps that range from exploring a mission to promoting innovation; with case studies. Authors argue for moving to a sustainable business model rather than making a business case for sustainability.

Written by a renowned sustainability expert, this book covers best practices for making and marketing sustainable brands and provides insights on how to raise the bar on product development by investigating best practices for making and marketing sustainable brands. The author discusses his analysis of 40+ case studies on marketing campaigns and greener product development from companies like Apple, Nike, Samsung Electronics, BASF, GE, Johnson & Johnson, Unilever and Method.

This book provides a rich collection of essays discussing and showcasing the transformation of businesses around the world towards sustainability and responsibility. It also highlights the latest insights on how corporations consider sustainability in the governance of their respective organization. Furthermore, the book features a section dedicated to responsible finance, and outlines business and management-driven approaches that contradict the traditionally held belief that a trade-off exists between sustainability, social responsibility and profit.

In a context of growing social and environmental concerns, the role of large enterprises and corporations in encouraging sustainability has drawn increasing attention in recent years. This book covers trends in accounting and reporting activities of large enterprises about their financial performance, as well as their social and environmental outcomes.

This book discusses the concept of sustainability valuation, a method in which corporate social responsibility (CSR) among other factors is embedded in the cash value of a given firm. It proposes a new, holistic way of representing sustainability in a theoretical framework, and discusses the role of policy in determining a firm's cash value. Moreover, it addresses the method's potential, the challenges involved in its practical application, and how it can be adapted to specific cases. By shaking up the field of firm valuation in an era characterized by global sustainable development, the book makes a valuable contribution to the available literature on finance, sustainability science, and policymaking.

This handbook provides researchers and students with an overview of the field of sustainability indicators (SIs) as applied in the interdisciplinary field of sustainable development. The editors have sought to include views from the center ground of SI development but also divergent views which represent some of the diverse, challenging and even edgy observations which are prominent in the wider field of SI thinking.

An expert on business strategy offers a pragmatic take on how businesses of all sizes balance the competing demands of profitability and employment with sustainability. Business strategy expert Yossi Sheffi offers a pragmatic take on how businesses of all sizes--from Coca Cola and Siemens to Dr. Bronner's Magical Soaps and Patagonia--navigate these competing goals. Drawing on extensive interviews with more than 250 executives, Sheffi examines the challenges, solutions, and implications of balancing traditional business goals with sustainability.