Citing your sources may seem tedious, but it's important to cite because:
| Journal Article from a Database | |
| Bibliography: |
Borgwardt, Elizabeth. “FDR's Four Freedoms as a Human Rights Instrument.” OAH Magazine of History, vol. 22, no. 2, 2008, pp. 8-13. Academic Search Complete. Accessed 5 Dec. 2016. |
| In-Text Citation: | (Borgwardt 9) |
| Book (Whole) | |
| Bibliography: |
Foucault, Michel, Graham Burchell, and Colin Gordon. The Foucault Effect: Studies in Governmentality : with Two Lectures by and an Interview with Michel Foucault. University of Chicago Press, 1991. |
| In-Text Citation: | (Foucault, Burchell, and Gordon 157) |
| Book (Chapter) | |
| Bibliography: |
Moffitt, Karl. "Trends in Income Support." Changing Poverty, Changing Policies, edited by Maria Cancian and Sheldon Danziger, Russell Sage Foundation, 2009, pp. 203-221. |
| In-Text Citation: | (Moffitt 217) |
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the arts and humanities. These resources, revised according to the 8th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, offer examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and reference pages:
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by
Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, theMLA Handbookgives step-by-step advice on every aspect of writing research papers, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper. For over half a century, theMLA Handbookis the guide millions of writers have relied on. The seventh edition is a comprehensive, up-to-date guide to research and writing in the online environment. It provides an authoritative update of MLA documentation style for use in student writing, including simplified guidelines for citing works published on the Web and new recommendations for citing several kinds of works, such as digital files and graphic narratives.
