LibGuides: HILA 121 (History of Brazil): Primary Sources Available at UCSD

Identifying and Finding Primary Sources

See the "Primary Sources" Tab on this Research Guide to learn more about what constitutes a Primary Source and identify some strategies to find primary sources.

See also the Primary Sources Research Guide, which points to many, many resources for finding primary sources at UCSD.

Textbooks provide good overviews to different periods and themes, and often include bibliographies for each section -- pointing you to excellent secondary sources which can be used to identify primary sources:

Brazil : five centuries of change by Thomas E. Skidmore
Publication Date: 2010
Print
A concise history of Brazil by Boris Fausto, with contributions by Sergio Fausto ; translated by Arthur Brakel
Publication Date: 2014

Primary Source Databases and Digital Libraries with English-Language Material

Hein Online

For international law, search in the categories: International Law and International Treaties and Agreements or select one of the following databases: History of International Law and World Constitutions Ilustrated and subject specific databases such as Religion and Law, Slavery in America and the World, and Women and the Law

UCSD's Hill [Special] Collection of Pacific Voyages (Early voyages of exploration and discovery to the Pacific prior to 1850)
To look for relevant materials in this collection, click on the link on the right to the "Catalog Record for the Hill Collection of Pacific Voyages" then click on the modify search button. Suggested modifiers are to put in the country you are looking of information on as a keyword or word in the title and to scroll down and select English as the language (if necessary) and the year of publication before 1800

ARTstor
Library of over 2 million digital images and their corresponding metadata. Covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture

Afro-Americana Imprints
Includes more than 12,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides spanning over 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Critically important subjects covered include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought, including political protest and resistance to racism; descriptions of African American life throughout the Americas; and slavery and race in fiction and drama.
Colonial America
When complete, will consist of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London. Includes material on piracy and seaborne rivalry with the French and Spanish.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Although this is an electronic collection of full text and page images of books published in England from 1475-1700, some of the books included are non-English-language and many deal with subjects beyond England, including the conquest and colonization of the Americas.
eHRAF Archaeology
Archaeological and other texts that are indexed by tradition and subjects. Former title: eHRAF Collection of Archaeology. As of January 2009, includes texts on 55 different cultures.

Electronic Enlightenment
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources. With over 67,800 letters and documents and over 8,300 correspondents, EE is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century

Trans-Atlantic Slave Database
An Emory University Digital Library Research Initiative funded by the NEH which constitutes the culmination of several decades of independent and collaborative research by scholars drawing upon data in libraries and archives around the Atlantic world. Includes maps and data on the slave trade and slaves transported across the Atlantic Ocean.

Using Special Collections at UCSD

All Special Collections and Archives (SC&A) materials are cataloged in Roger and finding aids for manuscript collections are available on our website, along with our policies and more information about our collections: https://library.ucsd.edu/collections/sca/

For tips on searching Roger, consult the page "How to Find and Request Special Collections Materials."

All Special Collections & Archives materials are stored in an environmentally controlled, secured area and all users must register and place requests to see the materials. If the items are located onsite, we will pull on demand when you arrive at the library. Keep an eye out for materials that are located offsite (it will say so in Roger), as delivery times for these items may be up to a week.

Register online to use Special Collections & Archives: https://spcoll-request.ucsd.edu/logon. Once registered, you can place requests online directly from the catalog and finding aids, or log in to your account to queue requests for a future visit and to view previous requests.

In addition to registering you will also need to show your photo ID when you visit Special Collections.

Seminal Brazilian or Latin American Primary Sources Translated to English

The Brazil reader : history, culture, politics by Robert M. Levine, John J. Crocitti
Publication Date: 1999
Print
The Brazil Reader: history, culture, politics by James N. Green, Victoria Langland, and Lilia Moritz Schwarcz
Publication Date: 2018
ebook
Children of God's fire: A documentary history of black slavery in Brazil by Robert Edgar Conrad
Publication Date: 1994
Print
Colonial Latin America: a documentary history by Edited by Kenneth Mills, William B. Taylor, and Sandra Lauderdale Graham
Publication Date: 2004
This is an ebook
Colonial lives : documents on Latin American history, 1550-1850 by Richard Boyer, Geoffrey Spurling,
Publication Date: 2000
Print
Consider the source: documents in Latin American history by Julie A. Charlip
Publication Date: 2007
Early Brazil : a documentary collection to 1700 by Ed. Stuart B. Schwartz ; translated by Clive Willis and Stuart B. Schwartz
Publication Date: 2010
ebook
History of Latin American Civilization: Sources and Interpretations by Lewis Hanke
Publication Date: 1967