LibGuides: HILA 121 (History of Brazil): Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Subject-Specific Databases Useful for Searches on the History of Brazil:

Anthropology Plus
Indexing database for anthropology, archaeology & related topics. Indexes articles in 2500+ scholarly journals, 1870 to present. Combines databases: Anthropological Literature (Harvard/Tozzer) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute)
OpenBibArt
OpenBibArt is a bibliographic database born out of a collaboration between the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS).
OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.
Bibliography of Slavery and World Slaving
Lists about 25,000 scholarly works published since 1900in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving, worldwide and throughout human history, including modern times.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Handbook of Latin American Studies Online (HLAS)
Searchable, annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American social sciences and humanities
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
Historical Abstracts
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Oxford Bibliographies: Latin American Studies
Annotated peer-reviewed bibliographies of topics spanning the Latin American studies field, alphabetically from 16th-Century New Spain to Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas.

More General Databases Useful for Latin American Searches:

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 2000 titles, predominantly scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.