Skip to Main Content
The Library

EndNote X9: EndNote at UC San Diego


This is no longer the current version of EndNote. If you are using EndNote 20 or EndNote 21, please refer to that guide.

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a software program that can help manage your citations and properly format the references in your paper or manuscript.  

EndNote can:  

  • Create an organized group of references in a personal "library" for easy access
  • Work with MS Word and other word processors
  • Work with both Mac & PC, and EndNote libraries can be shared between PCs & Macs
  • Pull in references from catalogs (i.e., UC Library Search) or from databases (e.g., JStor, PubMed, Web of Science, etc.)
  • Automatically attach PDFs to most of the records in your EndNote library
  • Organize your collection of PDFs, provide annotation tools, and make it all searchable

 

Using a bibliographic managment software program (EndNote is just one) allows you to manage and organize your citations and easily create bibliographies in your word processor.  Most tools also have a means of sharing your library of references with others.  For a discussion of several citation tools, see our "How to Cite" online guide.

EndNote is one of the most popular programs used at UCSD, and is available at the UCSD Bookstore with an academic price discount (about $200).

Additionally, On the Hub offers a student version (about $100), an update version (about $115), and a faculty/staff version (about $220).

This guide is designed for EndNote X9.  Details on the newest version will be available shortly. Information regarding previous versions are available by contacting Karen.

If you are uncertain which program to use, see the chart below. More info is on our online guide:  Compare Citation Management Tools

                                         Does This Program Meet My Needs?

I want to …

EndNote

EndNote Web

Mendeley

Zotero

Capture info from web pages.

Yes, but not well

Yes, but not well

Sort of: you can grab the URL and then take a screenshot and attach it.

Yes, can save a snapshot.

Import information from databases.

Search a database or catalog from the program.

(limited databases)

(limited databases)

(Mendeley's "catalog" only)

Manage a collection of PDFs.

 but has  

Work with my collection without needing the Internet.

Work from multiple computers.

(synch with EndNote Web)

(set up auto synch)

(set up auto synch)

Work on a tablet, app, or mobile site.

(app now free)

(app now free)

 

(free app)

Share my collection with others and have them add to it.

Not spend any money on this tool.

 

(cost for
more storage)

 

 

 

(2TB free storage)

 

(cost for more storage)

Online Learning Videos & Tutorials   

EndNote Training Channel

  EndNote Training Channel  Mendeley Guides from Elsevier Zotero Tutorials

 

Get help when you need it. Check out the options.