LibGuides: INTL 190: Breaking the Cycle: How to Build Peace and End the Drug War in Mexico: Finding Articles

Key Latin American Studies Periodicals

The following are some of the journals dedicated to publishing articles on Mexico or Latin America. It may be useful to browse the table of contents (you should be able to do this electronically for most or all) to see if you can find any special issues focusing on your theme or particularly useful articles.

Américas (Washington, Organization of American States)

EcoAméricas: A Monthly Report on Development and the Environment in Latin America

Estudios Mexicanos/Mexican Studies

Hispanic American Historical Review (HAHR)

Journal of Latin American Studies (JLAS)

Latin American Research Review (LARR)

Latin American Perspectives (LAP)

NACLA Report on the Americas

Subject or Regionally Specific Databases Useful for Latin American Searches

americanismo (CEEIB and Redial)

Portal providing access to Latin American resources identified by two scholarly networks dedicated to scientific and academic cooperation between Spain and Latin America: the Consejo Español de Estudios Iberoamericano (CEEIB) and the Red Europea de Documentación de Información (Redial) sobre América Latina. Includes links to online periodicals, unpublished presentations, digital libraries, and bibliographic databases.

ClasePeriodica
CLASE indexes articles published in over 1200 Latin American journals in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers over 1400 Latin American journals in science and technology. The merged database has over 400,00 citations dating back to 1975.

Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales (CLACSO) Virtual Library Database

Contains the publications of 159 research organizations in Latin America and the Caribbean that form the membership of CLACSO. Spanish Language.
Dialnet

Carries over 1100 open access e-journals, primarily written and published in the Spanish language. Dialnet is produced and hosted by the Universidad de La Rioja in Spain.
Handbook of Latin American Studies

The Handbook of Latin American Studies is an annotated bibliography of Latin American Studies literature produced by research librarians at the Library of Congress.

For the print version, see:

Handbook of Latin American studies. Austin [etc.] : University of Texas Press [etc.].
Geisel Reference, Request from SRLF ; Reference, Geisel Floor2 West, Offsite (SRLF) ; F1408 .H33 ; Library Use Only, AVAILABLE

Click on More for different ways to use

more...

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.

LAPOP

Vanderbilt University's LAPOP carries out surveys of public opinion in the Americas. Every two years it carries out the AmericasBarometer survey (which FSU subscribes to), which currently covers all 26 Latin American countires in North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean. Each year also it publishes dozens of academic studies and policy-relevant papers on more focused topics.
Latindex

Sistema regional de información en linea para Revistas científicas de América Latina, el Caribe, Espana y Portugal; Regional system of online information for scientific magazines of Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Does not index at the article level. Allows for browsing and searching of periodicals by title, subject, region, country, and publisher. Excellent source to verify publication information.
REDALYC

Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal (Web of Scientific Magazines of Latin America and the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal). Does not index at the article level. Allows for browsing and searching of periodicals by title, subject, region, country, and publisher. Excellent source to verify publication information.
SciELO

Scientific Electronic Library Online, covering over 400,000 articles from 1000 academic journals published in Latin America.
[Brazil] Fundação Getulio Vargas (FGV) Centro de Pesquisa e Documentação de História Contemporânea (CPDOC) do Brasil

Center of Research and Documentation for the Contemporary History of Brazil
[Central America] Academico Enlace Centroamerica

Portal to published and non-published Central American research resources, institutes and organizations.
[Central America] Metabase: Bibliografía en Red

MetaBase se permite accesar y ubicar recursos bibliográficos disponibles en bibliotecas y centros de documentación en Centroamérica.

Encuentra una biblioteca por el URL: http://www.metabase.net/busqueda2bib.phtml?qm=a

Pone el programa en su computadora por el URL: http://www.metabase.net/acerca/
[Central America] Central American Journals Online
[Central America] Repositorio Centroamericano

The SIIDCA-CSUCA discoverer provides access to the contents and complete texts of institutional repositories of CSUCA's universities.
[Mesoamerican/Pre-Columbian Studies] Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies (FAMSI)

Website provides definitions and maps of key terms and locations and specialized database, including Bibliografia Mesoamericana, the Maya Vase Database, and A Precolumbian Portfolio (with photographs of pre-Columbian Objects)

More General Databases Useful for Research for this class

Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
1941-present. Provides full text of over 30 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly.

Academic Search Complete

Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.

Border and migration studies online

A collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.

Center for Security Studies: Resources

Formerly ISN. A one-stop information service in the fields of international relations and security. Among the services offered are: an annotated links library, a limited area search tool (ISN LASE), and a selection of resources on current world affairs.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online

Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.

CQ Press Electronic Library

Find reporting, analysis on US Congressional issues in the news and coverage of the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee actiity and backroom maneuvering. Includes: CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, and Supreme Court Yearbook. All include information on Latin America particularly in the context of US-Latin American relations.

Digital National Security Archive

Nearly 40,000 declassified government documents from 1945 to present, organized into collections, each focused on a single topic.

HeinOnline

Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; World Constitutions Illustrated. Includes additional databases: National Survey of State Laws; Religion and the Law; Subject Compilations of State Laws; Women and the Law (Peggy); World Treaty Library

Historical Abstracts

1954-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade.

IMF eLibrary

Provides comprehensive access to International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS) databases. Also provides access to the International Monetary Fund's recent publications, including periodicals, books, analytical papers, and statistical tools.

JSTOR

Search by subject or browse full text of more than 2000 titles, predominantly scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included.

Military & Government Collection

Offers current news on all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)

1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.

PolicyArchive

PolicyArchive is a comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 17,000 documents, from about 500 organizations.

Sociological Abstracts

1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.

SSRN: Social Science Research Network/Political Science Network

Part of the Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN), PSN includes announcements, job postings, research and working papers, an elibrary of articles (some have a fee), and a professional directory. Some features require the creation of a (free) login.

TRAC: Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium

TRAC provides detailed profiles of terrorist groups and vulnerable regions. Also includes articles on ideologies, targets, tactics, and current chatter. For more information, click the "How to Use" link in the database

World Bank e-Library

The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of World Bank documents. The collection consists of World Bank publications and Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the UC-eLinks button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.

Kanopy

Includes over 26,000 videos available. The videos come from leading producers such as the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Kino Lorber and PBS, with more content added each year. Many of the films are from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films.