LibGuides: INTL 190: Breaking the Cycle: How to Build Peace and End the Drug War in Mexico: News Sources on Latin America

Zeta

Tijuana's Independent Newspaper Zeta known for its critical political and cultural commentary and its cultural supplements is microfilmed at UCSD.

UCSD also recently began to digitally archive the weekly print edition of Zeta through the Internet Archive's Way Back Machine. To access, click on the most recent date indicated.

The microfilm for 1984-2011 is available on Geisel's 2nd Floor West Wing (in the microfilm drawer -- call # XF 1865)

Recent print editions are available in the Current Newspapers area also on Geisel's 2nd Floor West Wing

For other editions, ask at the Research Assistance Desk to see issues in the Bindery. These are for in-library use only.

Full Text News Databases

BEST BETS/START HERE

Factiva

provides access to over 1000 global and local newspapers, 3000 journals and magazines, in 22 languages. Includes selected full text of some major Latin American newspapers. You can limit your search to newspapers by world region and country.

The Economist (1997-Present)

Economist Intelligence Unit Portal

Searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide.

The Financial Times (1999-)

New York Times (1999-present)

Additional News Databases

Access World News

Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.

AP Images

With millions of images dating back more than 150 years, this is one of the world's largest archives of historical & current imagery. Updated every minute. Includes news, entertainment, arts, business, and sports coverage from AP and selected partners.