Skip to Main Content
The Library

DOC 3 - UC San Diego Campus & San Diego Community Information: Library Collections

Provides guidance on finding current and historical information about UC San Diego and San Diego, with the goal of helping DOC 3 students in particular with their research assignment.

Important Notes

The library does not have comprehensive archival records of all units on campus, and when we do, they tend to document a time period of at least 5 years ago and older. In many cases, the best place to find information about a campus office's activities is on that office's website, particularly for data, reports, policies, or records from the last few years. (See "UCSD/UC Campus Information" page of this guide for additional tips.)

Be sure to check out the Coronavirus-specific guide we created for your class, too!

Exploring Library Collections

  • Lists and describes (and points to online full-text, when available) materials in the library's collections, including San Diego government publications, campus publications, archived websites for campus and the city, films, videos, and much more.
  • The default "Articles, Books & More" search box searches the holdings of libraries at all 10 UC campuses, as well references to resources beyond the UC that you may be able to request via Interlibrary Loan service.
  • You can narrow your search by things like Resource Type (e.g., government documents), Available Online, and other aspects using the filters on the left side of your results.
  • You can also choose to EXCLUDE categories of resources using filters, or limit by the desired creation date(s).
  • The library does have a rather large collection of San Diego government document publications in print format. To narrow your search to these items, click of the "Location" Filter option and select the locations that include "Documents SD" in their description and click Apply Filters. Hover over a location name and select the checkbox that appears. You can select more than one location as you are setting up your filter.

Library Digital Collections

Looking for historical campus information? Start with the Library's Digital Collections website:

 

Search through dozens of other subject collections like Chinese News, a newspaper for a Chinese-American audience in San Diego in the 1980s and '90s, the Herman Baca Papers, documenting the life and work of this San Diego area Chicano activist, and many others.

 

Tell Us How UC It

  • Includes a timeline of historical and more recent events on campus. Developed "to foster and contextualize conversations regarding incidents targeting specific underrepresented groups on our campus."

UCSD Racial Tension Spring 2010 Web Archive

  • A collection of news articles, videos, and blogs reporting on and reacting to a series of racially-charged incidents that occurred at UCSD, especially an incident in Geisel Library, in Spring 2010. Some articles detail actions taken by student groups and the University to address campus climate and diversity-related concerns following the events.
  • This collection is gathered by the UC San Diego Library, and preserved and made available via the Internet Archive's Archive-It service. Researchers may wish to browse and search other sites preserved with Archive-It either by UC San Diego or other schools and organizations.

University Art Gallery Closure Events digital collection

  • In 2016, the University Administration at UC San Diego threatened to close the University Art Gallery (UAG). During the months of May and June there were 20-30 events advocating to keep the UAG open. This image collection documents these events (including performances) organized by Collective Magpie with Friends Collective. Due in part to these actions, the University Art Gallery at UC San Diego remains open.

UC San Diego Archived Websites

  • A searchable collection of archived UC San Diego websites, including those documenting campus administration and news, the various colleges' websites, and selected departmental and programmatic pages, including the Stuart Collection and Women's Center.

Online Archive of California

  • Describes primary source collections maintained by libraries, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California campuses.

Calisphere

  • Includes photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. Items digitized and contributed by all 10 campuses of the University of California and other institutions in California.

UC History - Primary Sources

  • Includes links to select digital collections, as well as links to other UC libraries' websites to explore further.