Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering Undergraduate/Transfer Orientation: Engineering Ebook Collections


The Library licenses many ebook collections (both multidisciplinary and engineering-focused) to support your learning and research while you're here at UC San Diego. The collections are listed on the research guides, though we also add the ebooks to the library catalog so you don’t always have to know which collection you want to use.

However, we want to highlight three collections here because 1) they’re very engineering focused, and 2) you can take advantage of them even before you begin more typical research assignments.

Acquired in September 2020, AccessEngineering is a full-text collection of 700+ McGraw-Hill engineering handbooks and textbooks, plus 1000 faculty-created video supplements, spreadsheets, and a data visualization for material properties. Also includes ~30 Schaum's Outlines

The Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Lectures are (mostly) 50 to 100-page "lecture-style" ebooks that synthesize the research in a particular engineering, computer science, or mathematics topic to serve as an undergraduate-level introduction. Here's a sample of the types of titles you'll find in this collection, and you can also browse the subject areas.

O'Reilly for Higher Education (OHE) is an online collection of more than 40,000 ebooks, videos, and tutorials across multiple publishers (including O'Reilly), with an emphasis on engineering and computer science.

Unlike our other licensed online resources, OHE does not use VPN or the campus network. However, you will still need to login with your Active Directory/email credentials and use the Duo 2-Step. The video below will walk you through the login steps for OHE and give you a quick preview of why OHE will be so useful for you.