It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering: Journals/Articles
This page is UCSD's guide to online resources for mechanical and aerospace engineering. If you have any trouble finding what you need, or have any questions about the content of this guide, please contact Dave Schmitt (info below).
If you know the title of a specific article, it is easiest to type the title into Google Scholar. Once you find the link, click on "UC e-Links" to get to access through UCSD.
Subject Searching in the Journal Literature
The databases listed here include research in a wide variety of formats in many aspects of mechanical and aerospace engineering. For help with what resources are best for you, or any other questions about this site, please contact me. For information about accessing the online resources from off-campus, see our off-campus access page.
Indexes 20+ million journal and trade magazine articles, conference papers, standards, books, and other materials in all engineering disciplines. Core database for mechanical, aerospace, civil, structural, chemical, and environmental engineering, as well as materials science and nanotechnology. ****You can now cross search with Inspec for a more comprehensive search of the engineering literature; duplicate references can be removed.
1900-present. Indexes over 5,300 of the leading science journals across 164 scientific disciplines within engineering, physical, and life sciences, and provides searching of cited references. Quick Guide (PDF)
Database for materials science and engineering research, indexing journals, magazines and grey literature (patents, conference proceedings, technical reports) for topics in metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials. Includes Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, METADEX, Corrosion Abstracts, and Ceramic Abstracts. Includes full text access to more than 2,000 journals.
1969-present. Includes over 4,000 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Especially good for IEEE documents and standards.
Index to academic journals and research bulletins published by Japanese academic societies and universities. Offers full texts for selected titles. Strong coverage in science and engineering fields.
Index to academic journals published by academic societies in Japan and research bulletins published by universities in Japan. Includes Japanese and English language materials. Strong coverage in science and engineering fields. Offers full tests for the selected titles. Also, includes the index to Japanese periodical literature (Zassaku.)