This is a living collection of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day. Resources are organized chronologically and by genre for ease of browsing.
Subject-author guide to more than 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries. Indexes international music periodicals that cover every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
Covers all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, popular music, and composition. Includes articles and abstracts from international periodicals. The majority of content is from the most recent ten years of publication.
An international scope and focus on scholarly publications. Coverage is 1967 to date for the current database and the early 1800s for a combination of RILM and RILM Retro.
Historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes Variety, Hollywood Reporter, Back Stage, Billboard, and more.
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
There are several approaches to finding books on a music topic. In general, start by using the advanced search in UC Library Search, and limiting your search results to material type Books. If the list of search results is too long, select one of the more relevant items, scroll through most of the catalog record until you find the subject headings, then click on those.
You may also wish to use subject headings in your initial search. The subject headings include phrases such as "criticism and interpretation" that can be combined with a name in a keyword search, such as "Coltrane criticism interpretation."
Similarly, subject heading terms such as "analysis and appreciation" can be combined with a genre term, such as "Brahms Symphonies analysis and appreciation."
Provides clear and accessible information on composers, instruments, and musical topics.
