Contains in-depth profiles of every member as well as data on their constituencies, apportionment, and redistricting. Two notes: 1. Each profile is about 4 pages long, but you have to page through them one by one or download using the "Print entire member profile" button. 2. This publication is printed every two years at the end of the term and typically does not reflect the most recently elected members.
Includes profiles for states, districts, political leaders, and their staff. Online version is constantly updated. Note: Search functionality is limited. If you cannot find the state or district profile that you want, search for the elected official for that district and then follow the link on that page to the district profile itself. Prior editions available in print, call number JK1012 .A44.
United States election voting reference works with downloadable elections data. Covers the American voter, to major and minor political parties, actual races for Congress, the Presidency, and governorships. Election data can be downloaded in csv or tsv and earliest date of coverage varies by office: President (national summary: 1789; county detail: 1920); Senate (national summary: 1908; county detail: 1968); Governor (national summary: 1824; county detail: 1967); House (national summary: 1824; district detail: 1968)
Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes full text access to U.S. legislative information, including bills and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, public laws, etc.(For full text of most historic reports and documents, try the U.S. Congressional Serial Set via Readex.)
The Center for Responsive Politics provides information on campaign funds raised and spent by presidential and congressional candidates, lists of donations by state, economic sector, industry and interest, and top contributions.
"The digital encyclopedia of American politics and elections." Our goal is to inform people about politics by providing accurate and objective information about politics at all levels of government. Written by professional writers and editors, funded as a nonprofit, and committed to neutrality. Includes profiles of candidates, districts, states, political issues, and election results, including for state and local ballot measures.
Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes full text access to U.S. legislative information, including bills and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, public laws, etc.(For full text of most historic reports and documents, try the U.S. Congressional Serial Set via Readex.) Particularly useful are the CRS reports, which are written by the Library of Congress Congressional Research Service and well-researched but short reports commissioned by members of Congress on key issues.
Explores multiple viewpoints on controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy with articles written by professional researchers. ProCon.org is a nonprofit nonpartisan public charity.
Full text access to nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill back to 1983. Includes analysis of legislation, congressional roll call votes and other hot topics.
Best Bets for Local News
News sources can be particularly useful as primary sources that describe events as they unfold. They may cover sitautions or events that are newer or more specific than than one might find in scholarly articles. The Library subscribe to a number of online sources for international news.
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).
Factiva.com provides access to over 8,000 sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports Factiva.com delivers content in 22 languages.
See "News Pages" tab for the latest two weeks' content of Wall Street Journal, Barron's, Newsweek, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, & Chicago Tribune
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)This ProQuest site includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.