Skip to main content
How can I get to the full text of an article when I search a database?
How to find the full-text of the article:
Some databases include the full text of the article in the database. Look for icons or links that say:
- HTML (good version for reading on a computer screen)
- PDF (good version for printing or saving to a portable drive)
- Full Text (no specific format listed, but full text nonetheless)
If the article isn't available full-text within the database you found it, click on the orange UC-eLinks button to checkfor other full text as well as print options. UC-eLinks checks to see if the article is available through UC San Diego Library's subscriptions - whether it is online or in print.
UC-eLinks makes it easy to:
- Check for online access
- Check the catalog (Roger) for the print version
- Use Request to have us get a copy from another library (known as interlibrary loan)
- Format the citation information in one of 5 sytles to easily paste into your bibliography - use Copy & Paste citation
What if the journal (or article) I need isn't here - can Interlibrary Loan help?
Interlibrary loan (ILL) is the service libraries provide when they do not own the item you want. We will work with our partner libraries and borrow a book, video, or get a scan of a journal article at your request.
Use our ILL service to request items the library does not own.
Know the details of a specific citation you need? If so, use Citation Linker to look for it in UCSD's collection and make your request if we don't have it
Requesting Books and Articles FAQ
Find more information about what can be requested and what cannot be requested by visiting our FAQ page.
Viewing Your ILL Requests
Need to check the status of or renew an ILL item? For details on how to, see Viewing Your ILL Requests on the Using My Library Account tab of our Get Started! guide.