Vintage jazz, blues, ragtime, stage, gospel and other forms of African American musical expression, with links to texts and images from the original recording releases.
Several distinct audio and video collections, including: American History in Video; Audio Drama-The L.A. Theatre Works Collection; Dance in Video; Ethnographic Video Online; LGBT Studies in Video; LGBT Thought and Culture; Meet the Press; Music Online (American Song; Classical Music Library; Classical Music in Video; Classical Scores Library; Contemporary World Music; Jazz Music Library; Opera in Video; Popular Music Library; Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries); Silent Film; The March of Time; Theatre in Video; World History in Video; World Newsreels Online (1929–1966)
A growing database that will contain 50,000 tracks of music from America's past. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
"A multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings ... This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920."
With millions of images dating back more than 150 years, this is one of the world's largest archives of historical & current imagery. Includes news, entertainment, arts, business, and sports coverage from AP and selected partners. Updated every minute.
Includes "papers of artists, dealers, critics and curators, comprising thousands of letters, photographs, diaries, sketches, writings, rare published materials, and other documents." From the Smithsonian Institution.
A collection of over two million images, contributed by museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives.
Asian American Drama contains 186 plays by 35 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
The Berg Fashion Library includes 13,000 images, the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, free lesson plans, ~150 eBooks, reference works, an interactive timeline, a new exhibition archive, and more. Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Browsable by time period and by place.
Our subscription does not include the Fairchild Books Library.
Black Drama contains 908 plays by 171 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.When complete, the collection will include more than 1,200 plays.
Over 52,000 audio tracks of classical music from the Medieval to the contemporary, with chamber music, symphonies, choral music, solo vocal and instrumental, and other forms.
A wide spectrum of American (USA) music, from 19th century to contemporary compositions, electronic music, folk, jazz, Native American music, opera and musical theater. The audio tracks are linked to related scholarly texts.
With support of the European Union, this "Biggest Islamic Art Museum of the World" contains digitized images from more than 40 museums in 14 countries.
This site presents primary source documents of theatrical productions sponsored under the Works Project Administration's (WPA) Federal Theatre Project (FTP) from 1935 to 1939. Approximately 13,000 images are presented.
Digital images of the largest collection of material on professional theatre and dramatic performance in the age of Shakespeare. Includes letters, bills of sale, court orders, poems and other material dated 1544-1662.
The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
Primarily classical music, over 258,000 tracks as well as notes on the music or composers. Includes recordings from Naxos and several smaller labels. New titles are added monthly.
Covers all aspects of the Canadian and American theatre. Includes reference materials, along with records to approximately plays, people, theatres, productions, and production companies. Primary sources includes images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.
Ping is a 1968 multimedia work by Roger Reynolds on a text by Samuel Beckett. It involves slide projections, a film of a Butoh dancer made in Japan, pre-recorded electro-acoustic sound, live electronic processing, and a score for flute, percussion, and piano. This collection is an illustrative portion of the components and related documentation from the 1968 and 2011 performances at UCSD.
Audio tracks and related texts documenting the world's musical traditions, also spoken word recordings such as political speeches, as well as nature sounds. The music ranges from remote cultures worldwide to famous folk musicians. Over 35,000 tracks.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is a scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels.
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on a specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource. Also offers a keyword search box at top of page.
