Skip to main content

Psychology Research Guide: EndNoteWeb

Using Endnote Web

There are two ways to get references into Endnote Web. 

Start by creating an account with the instructions on the left side of the chart below.  Then..

1. Follow the instructions on the right side of the chart OR

2. Follow the written instructions in the right column of this page

 

Instructions on creating a bibliography/reference page are below, along with instructions for installing Cite While You Write for Microsoft Word.

Using EndNote Basic

*Note: When choosing Import option, if the database says "Proquest" in the top left corner, choose "Proquest" for the import option, not the database name.

Cite While You Write Plugin

The Cite While You Write plugin for Microsoft Word allows you to add the citations you've put into your Endnote Web account into your paper while you are writing it.  It can also automatically format your bibliography. 

This is what the ribbon will look like in Word.

How to download Cite While You Write:

1. After you've logged into Endnote Web, go to the Downloads tab

2. Follow the instructions to download Cite While You Write

How to use:

1. Click on the Endnote tab

2. When you're ready to insert a citation into your paper, click Insert Citations

3. Enter the author's last name into the search and choose Insert.  It will add the in-text citation as well as the full citation for your bibliography.

Be sure to always double check ALL your citations. 

 

Alternate Way to Save Citations

*Note that this option does not usually capture the full reference information. It is better to use the other options to the left.

Download Capture Reference

  1. Sign in to Endnote Web
  2. Click on Downloads in the top toolbar
  3. Drag the grey Capture Reference box to the bookmark menu of your browser
  • If you can't see your bookmark menu:
    • Firefox: View, Toolbars, and check off Bookmarks Toolbar
    • Chrome: Click the 3 dots in top right of browser, hover over Bookmarks, and click Show Bookmarks Toolbar OR Ctrl + Shift + B
    • Mac: Ctrl + Command + 1

Use Capture Reference

  1. Find article in database and click on the title
  2. Click on the Capture Reference bookmark
  3. Be sure my.endnote.com is chosen, then click Save To

It will now show up in your My References in Endnote Web

Creating a Bibliography

1. Put the articles you would like to be included in your bibliography in a folder

2. Hover over Format and choose Bibliography

  • References: choose the folder
  • Bibliographic style: APA 6th
  • File format: Choose your file format

        Save, email, or preview and print

EndNote Basic

 

CLICK HERE to find more extensive instructions on using EndNote Basic for your citations.