Skip to main content

Psychology Research Guide: Start Here

Your Librarian

 

 

Welcome!

This research guide contains useful information you may need to be successful in finding research.

Use the tabs above or the table below to find the information you need.

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me at any time!

Tamara Rhodes

Subject Librarian - Psyc, Cog Sci, Human Development, & Linguistics

Table of Contents

Tab Contents
How Your Librarian Can Help

An overview of what your librarian can do to offer support for you

  • Connect: Scholarly Communications, Research Data Curation, Digital Collections, Teaching + Learning Commons
  • Acquire: buy and acquire resources for you
  • Assist: help you with finding research
  • Instruct: offer instruction on research techniques and strategies for you and/or your classes
Getting Started The essentials - what you need to know to get started using the library
Books & Ebooks
  • Current list of new Psychology books and ebooks
  • List of key ebook collections for Psychology
  • How to find books and ebooks in our catalog
  • How to request books we don't have
  • How to recommend the purchase of a resource
Articles
  • How to set up Google Scholar for full text access to articles
  • How to get full text articles in databases
  • How to find articles
  • List of subject-relevant databases
  • How to find dissertations and theses
  • Tools for staying current with research
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
  • List of highlighted reference sources
Biographies
  • List of highlighted sources for biographies
    • Psychologists, psychiatrists, psychotherapists
    • 50 Key Thinkers in Psychology
    • Women's Intellectual Contributions to the Study of Mind and Society

Reviews of Current Research

  • Reviews that cite and summarize literature to give an overview of a subfield and allow one to quickly peruse summaries of the vast output of scholarly publications.
Data-Statistics

Comprehensive information on data and statistics at UCSD

  • Data Services
  • What is data
  • Frequently Used Stats
  • Frequently Used Data
  • Finding Data
  • Stat Software
  • Data APIs
  • Text Mining
  • Social Media Data
Tests & Measures
  • Includes link to research guide on tests, scales, or measures in Psychology and how to find them
Citation Software
  • List of available citation management software and how to choose one
EndnoteWeb
  • How to export citations to EndnoteWeb
  • How to use CiteWhileYouWrite plugin with Microsoft Word

 

Citation Generators
  • Short list of citation generators
Psyc Research & Writing Guides
  • List of sources for writing and researching in Psychology
Avoid Plagiarism
  • 3 modules/tutorials on how to avoid plagiarism

Feedback

Is this guide useful?
Absolutely!: 4 votes (100%)
Yes: 0 votes (0%)
Sort of: 0 votes (0%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Absolutely not!: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 4