LibGuides: Chemical Safety: Articles Databases & E-Book Collections

Article Databases

Databases to find articles in the primary literature related to chemical safety and toxicology. Many of the handbooks and other reference works also include citations or links to relevant journal articles.

SciFinder
One of our core resources for searching the chemical literature. You can search by substance and look at the biological properties (including LD50) with associated journal article or patent references, or search the references and limit results to "biological activity." SciFinder requires a one-time registration.
TOXLINE
Database of more than 4 million journal references on the effects (toxicological, pharmacological, biological) of drugs and other chemical substances. Heavy overlap with PubMed, and you can link out to PubMed records from the results. Can also be searched with other databases through TOXNET.
PubMed
Core index to the biomedical literature, indexing 5,500 journals in the biomedical/health sciences and related disciplines (including biochemistry, biomaterials, biomedical engineering, etc). You can search by topic, or search for your substance in the MeSH database and then limit the search to subheadings like toxicity.
Reaxys
One of our core resources for chemical research. From the substance record, look at the Bioactivity/Ecotox section to see effects, species, and additional data like method, exposure, and further details. You may need to refer to the reference journal article for more information. Some substances may actually linkout to a PubChem record, with links to toxicology databases and journal references.

E-Book Collections

Collections (particularly Knovel) with enough chemical safety/toxicology titles that you may want to search across the entire collection rather than a single title.

Knovel
Collection of 350+ handbooks and databases on safety and industrial hygiene. Some data found in PDFs, with some data in interactive tables. You can search by full text or use the Data Search.

Titles include: Yaws' Critical Property Data for Chemical Engineers and Chemists, Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials (2012, 12th ed), Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens (2012, 6th ed), Comprehensive Toxicology (2010, 2nd ed), Patty's Toxicology (2012, 6th ed), and the AIChE/CCPS series. Browse or search an individual title, or search for your compound and property across the entire Knovel collection.
- The 8th edition of Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards is now available on Science Direct. Knovel has the 7th edition.
CRCnetBASE Ebooks
CRC ebook collection, including books on environmental toxicology, hazardous materials, and occupational health and safety.

Titles include: Agrochemicals Desk Reference (1997), Handbook of Chemical and Biological Warfare Agents (2007), Hazardous Chemicals: Safety Management and Global Regulations (2013), Hazardous Laboratory Chemicals Disposal Guide (2003), Safe Use of Chemicals: A Practical Guide (2008), and Hazardous Materials Chemistry for Emergency Responders (2013).