Skip to main content
More safety and toxicity related resources and databases can be found at the OSHA, NIOSH, and EPA websites.
Search across multiple databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. Includes ChemIDplus, Hazardous Substances Data Bank, TOXLINE, Integrated Risk Information System, International Toxicity Estimates for Risk, Haz-Map, and Household Products Database.
Database of information on biological activity of small molecules. Included in the substance record: data on toxicity, safety and handling, exposure standards, and exposure potential. Data is pulled from the literature (PubMed) and databases like the Hazardous Substances Data Bank.
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
General industrial hygiene information on several hundred chemicals/classes. Presents key information: NIOSH recommended exposure limits, OSHA permissible exposure limits, and NIOSH immediately dangerous to life and health values (IDLH)--with linkouts to these databases. Also physical properties, personal protection recommendations, incompatibilities and reactivities, exposure routes, symptoms and more.
CAMEO Chemicals (NOAA/EPA/Coast Guard)
Database of response-related information and recommendations for hazardous materials that are commonly transported, used, or stored in the United States. Also includes a reactivity prediction tool, which you can use to predict potential reactive hazards between chemicals.
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ASTDR)
Toxicological profiles for more than 200 chemical substances. Each profile includes: public health statement; physical property information; health effects; production, use, import, and disposal, potential for human exposure; analytical methods; and regulations and advisories.
EPA Substance Registry Service
System for information about substances tracked by the EPA or other agencies, including NIOSH, ASTDR and NIH. You can search across all of the databases, or limit the search to a single database if the result set is too large to retrieve.
Chemical Data Access Tool (EPA)
Health and safety data for chemicals, submitted to the EPA under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). Databases: Chemical Data Reporting, TSCA Test Submissions, High Production Volume Information System, and more.
Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board
Independent federal agency charged with investigating chemical accidents. Along with reports about current and completed investigations, they also maintain a large collection of safety videos
(also on YouTube
Nano.gov - Environmental, Health and Safety Issues
From the National Nanotechnology Institute. Links to nano safety resources from other agencies.