Skip to main content
More Library services during COVID-19
For the safety and wellbeing of our community, Geisel Library and the Biomedical Library Building are closed effective Monday, March 16, 2020 until further notice. Learn more about services available at the Library during the COVID-19 response.
Temp Access 2020 outside UC
Collected Vendors offering temporary free OA
Collected list of vendors offering temporary free open access to content.
Dimensions is facilitating access to COVID-19 research
In order to facilitate this, we are able to free people from the constraints of specific applications and platforms by providing all relevant content on COVID-19 in Dimensions as a single export file, updated daily, to make sharing and distributing this research information easier.
EBSCO Faculty Select - until 06/30/2020
Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty can easily discover and access Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as find and request access to unrestricted, DRM-free e-books from top academic publishers.
With this option, EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to temporary access to educational material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use for a limited time, just *contact your librarian for the link* (needs to be email).
Permanent Library Resources
For years, the Library has been investing heavily in electronic material, and we provide access to millions of electronic books, journals and other information resources.
- As usual, the best way to find content is to search the UCSD Library catalog, Roger. And remember you can always limit to Electronic Materials only.
- Assuming availability and a reasonable price, we will purchase content we have in print as an ebook for this quarter, especially reserves. Use this form to recommend a purchase.
- Our licensed databases and packages are included in the Databases A-Z list.
- Many ebook options are listed in our Ebook Guide.
- A wide range of licensed and free streaming content can be found on the Film & Video Guide.
- Open Educational Resources (OER) - lists by discipline are being continually updated as are the crowdsourced open lab (virtual lab) and ancillaries lists.
- Kanopy - We will default to approving any films which are needed for instruction during Spring 2020 Quarter. Reminder:
- There are thousands of Kanopy videos available for DDA currently in Roger (and expanded for Spring Quarter). These are not mediated, and can be used by UCSD patrons at any time.
- There are also many videos in Kanopy not cataloged, but findable if one searches within Kanopy. These will be mediated, UCSD instructors will need to request one of these videos specifically for instruction.
New (temporary) content during Spring '20 Quarter
Many publishers are offering free content at this time. The majority of this content is provided as special institutional access, not open access, so UCSD users off-campus will need to connect to the VPN. Many items are listed in our catalog, Roger, but not all, so you may have to visit the vendor site to access content.
- Ebooks -
- HathiTrust - After Logging In as a UCSD user, you can view millions of in-copyright print books owned across UC. Some limitations apply, as access is based on the number of print copies we own.
- Academic Complete: We have a limited time subscription to 180,000 ebooks at this site.
- JSTOR content - A number of collections of books, journals, and primary source materials are free at this time
- Project Muse - Many publishers are making Project Muse content free for a limited time.
- Bloomsbury content - Free books and digital resources through June 15.
- A collection of temporarily open books from University Presses is at the Public Books Database.
- Harvard Business Publishing ebooks collection.
- Textbooks -
- Databases and Research Content -
- Film and Video -
- AVON - 68,000 videos online for free.
- Films on Demand, which includes thousands of educational videos
- JoVE (health sciences) has provided free access to all Education Series science videos through June 15th. This includes JoVE Core, Science Education and Lab Manual.
- ASTM (engineering) has provided access to all video content on their site for free through 2020.