Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These are the key databases that index the STEM edcation literature--journal articles as well as (depending on the database) dissertations and book chapters. To get full-text articles (or request articles we don't have, via interlibrary loan), click the or button next to the article record (or the "Full Text" button in SciFindern).
These are the best Library databases to begin your search for journal articles in science and math education.
Indexes more than 2,850 journals, with full text for more than 1,800. Also indexes 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Search alone or with Academic Search Complete, Education Index Retrospective, Mental Measurements Yearbook, and/or Social Sciences Full Text.
Indexes the education literature, covering thousands of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Many of the non-journal documents (accession numbers beginning with ED) are available full-text.
Web of Science
Indexes 12,000+ journals in all subjects, with heavy emphasis in the sciences. For each record, you can view what the authors cited, who has since cited the article, and look for related articles based on common citations.
Other databases you might want to check out as well, either for their indexing or full-text coverage of the education journals.
Indexes articles, books, chapters, thesis, and web pages dealing with psychology. You can also limit search results to empirical studies
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals, with full-text is available for over 5300 journals. Overlaps with Education Source.
Full-text coverage of journals (mostly) in the humanities and social sciences, minus the last 3-5 years for most of the titles. Also includes thousands of scholarly books.
Educational Research Abstracts Online (ERA)
Covers current international research in education. Includes the following abstracting journals: Educational management abstracts, Educational technology abstracts, Multicultural education abstracts, Research into higher education abstracts, Sociology of education abstracts, Special educational needs abstracts, and Vocational education and training abstracts.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and provides abstracts of articles published since 1983 in over 700 social sciences journals, with full-text provided for most articles published from 1994+.
Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
A better alternative to searching Google because it searches the scholarly literature rather than "everything." Very limited tools for refining searches, but you can go into the advanced search to limit a word or phrase be found in the title only. Indexes at the full text article level so it may identify articles not found in other databases. Using Google Scholar Advanced Search (1-min video)