LibGuides: Science/STEM Education: Books & Encyclopedias

We have an extensive collection of books (print and ebooks) that cover STEM Education and related disciplines.

UC Library Search

UC Library Search, accessible from the search box on the library's homepage, helps you locate books, film, music, maps, and various other materials at the UC San Diego Library and beyond. It also contains a limited number of online journal and newspaper articles. You may search by keyword, title, and author, and filter your search to what is available online, or peer-reviewed articles. You can also place an interlibrary loan request through UC Library Search for materials at other UC campuses or libraries worldwide using your Single Sign-On credentials.

UC Library Search does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search for articles, use databases like Web of Science or Education Source.

The Roger and Melvyl catalogs were retired on July 27, 2021.

Ebook Collections

Publisher collections that are strong with math and science education books. You can browse the titles or search full text of the books (and journal articles if available).

Springer Education Ebooks
An extensive collection of science education ebooks published by Springer. You can see just the ebooks we license by unchecking "Include Preview-only Content." You can also browse the Math Education titles.
National Academies Press Ebooks
Another extensive collection of education ebooks with a strong focus in science and math education. The books are free, but registration may be required to download them.
Sage Research Methods
Books, reference works and journal articles from across the social sciences research methods, including a large collection of qualitative methods books. Covers every aspect of research skills training and can help researchers at all levels through every step of the research process, from coming up with a research question, doing a literature review, planning a project, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up a report, dissertation or thesis.
more...less...
Also included are SRM Cases (stories of how real research projects were conducted) and SRM Datasets (a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves).
Taylor & Francis Ebooks
Routledge education ebooks from 2016 to date. For older books, check Roger to see if we have in print or through another ebook platform.
American Chemical Society Symposium Series
Published symposia from ACS Division of Chemical Education programs.

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

You can find more encyclopedias in the Library catalog, and as well as additional math or science-specific encyclopedias on the subject guides

Encyclopedia of Science Education
Covers the range of methodologies, perspectives, foci, and cultures of science education
Science Education: A Global Perspective
Current developments in science education and their implications, from various national and international perspectives.
Second International Handbook of Science Education
Reviews of research in science education, with an international focus.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Articles on education include: science education, mathematics education, classroom assessment, cognitive development, learning styles, educational learning theory. Also sections with articles covering psychology and cognitive neuroscience topics.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education
Covers all aspects of mathematics education through 500+ articles, from short descriptions to in-depth pieces.
International Encyclopedia of Education
Review articles on education topics, including assessment, learning and cognition, and technology.
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education
Encyclopedia focusing on education diversity topics.
International Education : an Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues and Systems
Covers key topics, issues and concepts related to international education.